BAYELSA Senatorial Districts and the Local Government Areas

BAYELSA has 3 senatorial districts and 8 Local Government Areas (LGAs). The senatorial districts with the LGAs they comprise are:


Nigeria has 109 Senatorial Districts, 3 in each of the 36 states and 1 in Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). Every senatorial district sends a Senator to the House of Senate, National Assembly, Abuja, so the total number of Nigerian Senators is 109.

The formation of the Senate is based on the three Senatorial Districts per State and one for the Federal Capital Territory. The 109 member Senate is presided over by the President of the Senate and assisted by the Deputy President of the Senate, all are chosen among the Senators. They are then assisted by eight Principal Officers and several Committee Chairmen and Vice Chairmen.

The 8 Principal Officers include Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader, Minority Leader, Deputy Minority Leader, Chief Whip, Deputy Chief Whip, Minority Whip and Deputy Minority Whip.

Bayelsa Local Government Areas

Bayelsa State consists of 8 Local Government Areas, namely:

  1. Brass
  2. Ekeremor
  3. Kolokuma/Opokuma
  4. Nembe
  5. Ogbia
  6. Sagbama
  7. Southern Ijaw
  8. Yenagoa

The Local Government Areas and their headquarters:

  1. Brass Local Government Area
    Twon Brass
  2. Ekeremor
    Ekeremor Town
  3. Kolokuma Opokuma
    Kaima Town
  4. Nembe
  5. Ogbia
    Ogbia Town
  6. Sagbama
    Sagbama Town
  7. Southern Ijaw
    Oporoma Town
  8. Yenagoa
    Yenagoa City

Bayelsa is a state in Nigeria. It is located in the southern part of the country.

Created on October 1st 1996 from the old Rivers State, it’s bounded to the east by Rivers State and west by Delta State, the beautiful waters of the Atlantic Ocean dominates its southern borders.

It has the longest coastline in the West African sub-region making the State a tourists destination.

The name  Bayelsa is derived from a combination of acronyms of three Local Government Areas within its confines: Brass LGA (BALGA), Yenagoa LGA (YELGA), and Sagbama LGA (SALGA). The state is made up of 8 Local Government Areas; they are Ekeremor, Kolokuma Opokuma, Yenagoa, Nembe, Ogbia, Sagbama, Brass and Southern Ijaw.

The beautiful city of Yenagoa serves as the Capital City which plays host to most of the Government and private institutions.

The four main languages spoken are Izon, Nembe, Ogbia and Epie-Atissa. Like the rest of Nigeria, English is the official language.

Bayelsa State has one of the largest crude oil and natural gas deposits in Nigeria. Bayelsa is often described as the cradle of Ijaw culture and tradition because of its rich culture and tradition that dates back to so many centuries.

Fishing is the major occupation of Bayelsa people because of the abundant creeks, lagoons, rivers and swamps within which commercial fishing is practiced. Over 200 species of fish can be found in the waters within and around the state. Fish oil extraction is a common economic activity throughout all the LGAs of the state, and the coastal areas abound in sea foods such as fish, oysters, crabs, lobsters, periwinkle et cetera. There are also sea animals such as Hippopotamus, manatee, crocodile etc. in the seas, rivers and streams that crisscross the state.

Food crops grown in the state include yam, cocoyam, banana, pineapple and plantain. Cash crops grown in the state include coconut, pears, oil palm and raffia palm. The potentialities for the development of these crops to feed local industries are very good. Technologies are being developed to reclaim land from mangrove swamps in order to cultivate food, especially lowland rice and the cash crops identified above on a large, commercial scale.