Benue State Independent Electoral Commission (BSIEC)

The Benue State Independent Electoral Commission (BSIEC) organizes, undertakes and supervises all elections into Local Government Councils in Benue State.

It plays a significant role in the political and electoral activities of Benue State.

In accordance with section 197 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal, Republic of Nigeria, BSIEC was inaugurated on the 5th day of, June 2001 by His Excellency the Governor of Benue State George Akume.

The commission renders advice as it may consider relevant to INEC (Independent National Electoral Commission) on the compilation and registration of voters if applicable to Local Government elections in the State.

BSIEC aims to conducts credible, free and fair elections in Benue State that would stand the test of time and help in the growth of the democracy in Nigeria.

It is located on Km 2, off Ankpa Quarters Road, Makurdi, Benue State

Benue State Governorship, State House of Assembly, House of Representatives and Senate elections are conducted by the federal electoral body. INEC, while the state electoral body, BSIEC, conducts Local Government Areas (LGAs) elections in the state.

Benue State has 23 LGAs namely: Ado, Agatu, Apa, Buruku, Gboko, Guma, Gwer East, Gwer West, Katsina-Ala,Konshisha, Kwande, Logo,Makurdi, Obi, Ogbadibo, Ohimini, Oju, Okpokwu, Otukpo, Tarka, Ukum, Ushongo and Vandeikya