Smallest Local Government Area, LGA, in Nigeria

Lagos Island is the smallest Local Government Area (LGA) in Nigeria in terms of land area. It has a total land area of 8.7 km2 (approximately 9 km2). This is followed by:
Onitsha South: 10
Agege: 11
Ajeromi-Ifelodun: 12
Shomolu: 12
Mushin: 17
Ibadan South East: 17
Kano Municipal: 17
Gwale: 18

Lagos Island

Lagos Island (Isale Eko) is Local Government Area (LGA) in Lagos city, Lagos State, Nigeria.

Land area
8.7 km2 (approximately 9 km2)

Former capital of Lagos State
It was the capital of Lagos State until 1957 when the capital moved to Ikoyi.

Yoruba fishing village of Eko
Lagos Island is home to the Yoruba fishing village of Eko, which grew into the modern city of Lagos.

Lagos city has now spread out to cover the neighboring islands as well as the adjoining mainland.

Connected to the mainland by 3 bridges
Lagos Island is connected to the mainland by three large bridges:
Carter Bridge,
Eko Bridge and
the Third Mainland Bridge which crosses Lagos Lagoon to the district of Ebute Metta. It is also linked to the neighboring island of Ikoyi and to Victoria Island.

Oba (king) of Lagos residence
It is the part of Lagos where the Oba (king) of Lagos resides.

The Lagos harbor district of Apapa faces the western side of the island.

The island is crowded and congested with people, buildings and vehicles.

Government attempts have been made to build new roads out over the lagoon in order to improve traffic flows.

Important places at Lagos Island
Cathedral Church, CMS
Eko Electricity Distribution Company
Lagos Cathedral, Marina, Lagos Island
Marina Bus Stop, Lagos Island
Nigerian Ports Authority, Marina, Lagos Island
CMS Lagos
CMS Motor Park
CMS road
Civic Towers
Church of the Assumption, Lagos
1004 building, lekki road, Lagos
Freedom Park
Remembrance Arcade, Lagos Island