Central University, Ghana

Who does not know Central University College (CUC) in Ghana? The school is actually the biggest privately owned tertiary institution in Ghana at the moment, founded by the leader of the International Central Gospel Church (ICGC), Rev. Dr. Mensa Otabil.

The institution seized being a college and became a full-fledged university – Central University in 2016, after it was issued a charter by then President John Dramani Mahama.

Central University College History/Reviews

What is known as The Central University today was first established as a Pastoral Training Institute called Central Bible College by the International Central Gospel Church (ICGC) in 1988, with the initial and major aim of training ICGC pastors in Theology.

The institution however, expanded over time to include academic courses such as Economics, Computer Science, Business Administration and some modern languages and was renamed Central Christian College in 1993, with the major vision of providing an “integrated and biblically-based tertiary education with particular reference to the needs of the African continent”.

Further expansions led to the school being renamed Central University College in 1997 and accredited by the National Accreditation Board (NAB) the following year, 1998. Owing to this significant growth, CUC in 2007, moved a greater part of its campus from Accra to Miotso, a community near Dahwenya in the Greater Accra Region.

The University currently has five campuses, with the one in Miotso being the permanent site.

Other Essential Facts about CUC

Below are some of the things you would like to know about the Central University College.

Schools and Faculties

The Central University is made up of 4 schools and 2 faculties where over 20 courses are offered. They include:

  • The School of Theology and Missions
  • Central Business School
  • School of Applied Sciences
  • Graduate School of Business
  • Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Law

Campus Locations

CUC has its campuses in the following locations:

Miotso, Greater Accra:  This campus accommodates the Central Business School(CBS), the School of Applied Sciences (SAS), the Faculty of Law, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences and the institution’s administrative unit.

Mataheko, Accra: In Mataheko, CUC has its campuses scattered in four different locations which all contain lecture halls and some administrative offices.

Dansoman, Accra: This is where the School of Theology and Missions is located.

Christ Temple Graduate School, Accra: The Graduate School of Business is located here where students do an 18-month Masters Degree programme in Business Administration.

Calvary Charismatic Church, Kumasi: This campus is located close to the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST).

The University is set to induct her new Vice Chancellor – Prof. Bill Buenar Puplampu, come Tuesday, November 7, 2017 at the School’s Trinity Hall, Miotso Campus.