Kano constituencies: Senate, House of Reps & House of Assembly

Kano, like other states in Nigeria, has 3 sets of legislative constituencies, namely:

A. Senate
B. House of Representatives and
C. House of Assembly

A. Senate

Kano State has 3 senatorial districts as follows:

  1. Kano Central
  2. Kano North
  3. Kano South

The House of Senate districts (constituencies) and their LGAs for Kano State are:

District: Kano Central
LGAs: Dala/ Gwale/ Dawakin Kudu/ Kura/ Gezawa/Tarauni/ Fagge/ KMC/ Gar. Mallam/ Kumbotso/ Madobi/ Minjibir/ Nassarawa/ Ungogo/ Warawa

District: Kano North
LGAs: Bichi/ Shanono Bagwai/ Danbatta/ Makoda/ Dawakin Tofa/ Gabasawa
Gwarzo/ Kabo/ Tofa/ Rimin Gado/ Tsanyawa/ Kunchi

District: Kano South
LGAs: Ajingi/ Albasu/ Bebeji/ Bunkure/ Doguwa/ Garko/ Gaya/ Karaye Kibiya/Kiru/ Rano/ Rogo Sumaila/ Takai/ Tudun Wada/ Wudil

B. House of Representatives

Kano House of Representatives constituencies are:

  1. Albasu/ Gaya/ Ajingi
  2. Shanono/ Bagwai
  3. Bebeji/ Kiru
  4. Bichi
  5. Rano/ Bunkure/ Kibiya
  6. Dala
  7. Gwale
  8. Dambatta/ Makoda
  9. Dawakin Kudu/ Warawa
  10. Dawakin Tofa/ Tofa/ Rimin Gado
  11. Doguwa/ Tudun Wada
  12. Gezawa/ Gabasawa
  13. Gwarzo/ Ikabo
  14. Municipal
  15. Tarauni
  16. Karaye/ Rogo
  17. Kumbotso
  18. Kura/ Madobi/ Garun Mallam
  19. Nassarawa
  20. Fagge
  21. Sumaila/ Takai
  22. Minjibir/ Ungogo
  23. Tsanyawa/ Kunchi
  24. Wudil/ Garko

The House of Representatives constituencies and their LGAs are:


  • Albasu/ Gaya/ Ajingi
    Alabasu/ Gaya/ Ajingi
  • Shanono/ Bagwai
    Shanono/ Bagwai
  • Bebeji/ Kiru
    Bebeji/ Kiru
  • Bichi
  • Rano/ Bunkure/ Kibiya
    Rano/ Bunkure/ Kibiya
  • Dala
  • Gwale
  • Dambatta/ Makoda
    Dambatta/ Makoda
  • Dawakin Kudu/ Warawa
    Dawakin Kudu/ Warawa
  • Dawakin Tofa/ Tofa/ Rimin Gado
    Dawakin Tofa/ Tofa/ Rimin Gado
  • Doguwa/ Tudun Wada
    Doguwa/ Tudun Wada
  • Gezawa/ Gabasawa
    Gezawa/ Gabasawa
  • Gwarzo/ Ikabo
    Gwarzo/ Ikabo
  • Municipal
  • Tarauni
  • Karaye/ Rogo
    Karaye/ Rogo
  • Kumbotso
  • Kura/ Madobi/ Garun Mallam
    Kura/ Madobi/ Garun Mallam
  • Nassarawa
  • Fagge
  • Sumaila/ Takai
    Sumaila/ Takai
  • Minjibir/ Ungogo
    Minjibir/ Ungogo
  • Tsanyawa/ Kunchi
  • Wudil/ Garko
    Wudil/ Garko

C. House of Assembly

The House of Assembly constituencies in Kano State are as follows::

  1. Ajingi
  2. Albasu
  3. Bagwai/Shanono
  4. Bebeji
  5. Bichi
  6. Bunkure
  7. Dala
  8. Dambatta
  9. Dawaki Kudu
  10. Dawaki Tofa
  11. Doguwa
  12. Fagge
  13. Gabawa
  14. Garko
  15. Gaya
  16. Gezawa
  17. Gwale
  18. Gwarzo
  19. Kabo
  20. Karaye
  21. Kibiya
  22. Kibiya
  23. Kiru
  24. Kumbotso
  25. Kunchi/ Tsanyawa
  26. Kura/ Garun Malam
  27. Madobi
  28. Makoda
  29. Minjibir
  30. Municipal
  31. Nassarawa
  32. Rano
  33. Rimin Gado/ Tofa
  34. Rogo
  35. Sumaila
  36. Takai
  37. Tarauni
  38. Tudun Wada
  39. Ungoggo
  40. Warawa

There are 40 members of Kano State House of Assembly. Each member represents one of the 40 constituencies.

Although Kano State 44 Local Government Areas (LGAs), 4 have been joined with another 4 as a pair to form a constituencies. This usually happens in state house of assembly constituency delineation when some LGAs are small to, alone, form a constituency.

The LGAs combined to form a constituency are as shown below:

  • Bagwai/ Shanono
  • Kunchi/ Tsanyawa
  • Kura/ Garun Malam
  • Rimin Gado/ Tofa

The Chamber and the offices of Kano House of Assembly members are located in Kano city at Abdu Bako Secretariat.

Kano LGAs

Kano State has 44 LGAs (Local Government Areas), namely:

  1. Ajingi
  2. Albasu
  3. Bagwai
  4. Bebeji
  5. Bichi
  6. Bunkure
  7. Dala
  8. Dambatta
  9. Dawakin Kudu
  10. Dawakin Tofa
  11. Doguwa
  12. Fagge
  13. Gabasawa
  14. Garko
  15. Garun Mallam
  16. Gaya
  17. Gezawa
  18. Gwale
  19. Gwarzo
  20. Kabo
  21. Kano Municipal
  22. Karaye
  23. Kibiya
  24. Kiru
  25. Kumbotso
  26. Kunchi
  27. Kura
  28. Madobi
  29. Makoda
  30. Minjibir
  31. Nassarawa
  32. Rano
  33. Rimin Gado
  34. Rogo
  35. Shanono
  36. Sumaila
  37. Takai
  38. Tarauni
  39. Tofa
  40. Tsanyawa
  41. Tudun Wada
  42. Ungogo
  43. Warawa
  44. Wudil

Metropolitan LGAs of Kano

Six of the Local Government Areas: Fagge, Gwale, Tarauni, Kano Muncipal, Nassarawa and Dala comprise Kano city metropolis.

Kano State

Kano, a State in Nigeria is located in the northwest geo-political zone of the country. The state capital is Kano city. Six local government areas, namely; Fagge, Gwale, Tarauni, Kano Muncipal, Nassarawa and Dala have virtually joined to form what is called Kano metropolis. The city of Kano is not only the capital but also the commercial nerve centre of the state.

It is the second largest city in Nigeria after Lagos.

Kano was among the 12 states created in May 1967 out of the former Northern Region. It shares boundaries with Katsina, Jigawa, Bauchi and Kaduna State. The state was intact until August 27,1991 when Jigawa State was carved out of it.

Gidan Murtala, Kano, Nigeria

It is one of the largest states in Nigeria in terms of population, having a population of about 9, 383, 682 in the 2006 census. Its has 44 local governments, with an area of 20,479.6 square kilometer. The population density is about 458 persons per square kilometre.

The state has over 18, 684 square kilometres of cultivable land and it is the most extensively irrigated state in Nigeria. Kano State is noted for its famous markets and it is an industrial centre in the north. Trading articles in the Kano City include leather goods, local crafts, dyed textile materials as well as camels.

Centuries ago, Kano was largely cosmopolitan with settled populations of Arab, Berber, Tuareg, Kanuri and Fula and remains so with the Hausa language spoken by many residents.

It is the traditional state of the Dabo dynasty who have ruled as emirs over the city-state since the 19th century.

The city is one of the seven medieval Hausa kingdoms.

Located in the Savanna, south of the Sahel, Kano is a major route of the trans-Saharan trade, having been a trade and human settlement for many years.

Prior to the creation of Kano State in 1967, it was the largest Hausa Kingdom in Africa that is currently 1000 years old, based on an ancient settlement around Dala Hill.

According to the Kano Chronicle, Bagauda, a grandson of the mythical hero Bayajidda. became the first king of Kano in 999AD, reigning until 1063AD.

Muhammad Rumfa ascended to the throne in 1463 and reigned until 1499.

During his reign he reformed the city, expanded the Sahelian Gidan Rumfa (Emir’s Palace), and played a role in the further Islamization of the city as he urged prominent residents to convert.

The Hausa state remained independent until the Fulani conquest of 1805.

At the beginning of the 19th century, Fulani Islamic leader Usman dan Fodio led a jihad affecting much of northern Nigeria, leading to the emergence of the Sokoto Caliphate.

Kano became the largest and most prosperous province of the empire.

In March, 1903 after a scanty resistance, the Fort of Kano was captured by the British, It quickly replaced Lokoja as the administrative centre of Northern Nigeria.

It was replaced as the centre of government by Zungeru and later Kaduna and only regained administrative significance with the creation of Kano State following Nigerian independence in 1960.