List of Kano House of Assembly Constituencies

The Kano State legislature (House of Assembly) has 40 constituencies, namely:

  1. Ajingi
  2. Albasu
  3. Bagwai/Shanono
  4. Bebeji
  5. Bichi
  6. Bunkure
  7. Dala
  8. Dambatta
  9. Dawaki Kudu
  10. Dawaki Tofa
  11. Doguwa
  12. Fagge
  13. Gabawa
  14. Garko
  15. Gaya
  16. Gezawa
  17. Gwale
  18. Gwarzo
  19. Kabo
  20. Karaye
  21. Kibiya
  22. Kibiya
  23. Kiru
  24. Kumbotso
  25. Kunchi/Tsanyawa
  26. Kura/Garun Malam
  27. Madobi
  28. Makoda
  29. Minjibir
  30. Municipal
  31. Nassarawa
  32. Rano
  33. Rimin Gado/Tofa
  34. Rogo
  35. Sumaila
  36. Takai
  37. Tarauni
  38. Tudun Wada
  39. Ungoggo
  40. Warawa

There are 40 members of Kano State House of Assembly. Each member represents one of the 40 constituencies.

Although Kano State 44 Local Government Areas (LGAs), 4 have been joined with another 4 as a pair to form a constituencies. This usually happens in state house of assembly constituency delineation when some LGAs are small to, alone, form a constituency.

The LGAs combined to form a constituency are as follows:

  • Bagwai/Shanono
  • Kunchi/Tsanyawa
  • Kura/Garun Malam
  • Rimin Gado/Tofa

The Chamber and the offices of Kano House of Assembly members are located in Kano city at Abdu Bako Secretariat.

A member’s tenure expires after 4 years if the member is not re-elected.

The first House of Assembly was inaugurated on 2 October 1979.

Kano LGAs

Kano State has 44 LGAs (Local Government Areas), namely:

  1. Ajingi
  2. Albasu
  3. Bagwai
  4. Bebeji
  5. Bichi
  6. Bunkure
  7. Dala
  8. Dambatta
  9. Dawakin Kudu
  10. Dawakin Tofa
  11. Doguwa
  12. Fagge
  13. Gabasawa
  14. Garko
  15. Garun Mallam
  16. Gaya
  17. Gezawa
  18. Gwale
  19. Gwarzo
  20. Kabo
  21. Kano Municipal
  22. Karaye
  23. Kibiya
  24. Kiru
  25. Kumbotso
  26. Kunchi
  27. Kura
  28. Madobi
  29. Makoda
  30. Minjibir
  31. Nassarawa
  32. Rano
  33. Rimin Gado
  34. Rogo
  35. Shanono
  36. Sumaila
  37. Takai
  38. Tarauni
  39. Tofa
  40. Tsanyawa
  41. Tudun Wada
  42. Ungogo
  43. Warawa
  44. Wudil

Metropolitan LGAs of Kano

Six of the Local Government Areas: Fagge, Gwale, Tarauni, Kano Muncipal, Nassarawa and Dala comprise Kano city metropolis.

More on Kano

The city of Kano is not only the capital but also the commercial nerve centre of the state.

Kano is the second largest city in Nigeria after Lagos.

It was among the 12 states created in May 1967 out of the former Northern Region. It shares boundaries with Katsina, Jigawa, Bauchi and Kaduna State. The state was intact until August 27,1991 when Jigawa State was carved out of it.

The state has over 18,684 square kilometres of cultivable land and it is the most extensively irrigated state in Nigeria. Kano State is noted for its famous markets and it is an industrial centre in the north. Trading articles in the Kano City include leather goods, local crafts, dyed textile materials as well as camels.

Centuries ago, Kano was largely cosmopolitan with settled populations of Arab, Berber, Tuareg, Kanuri and Fula and remains so with the Hausa language spoken by many residents.

It is the traditional state of the Dabo dynasty who have ruled as emirs over the city-state since the 19th century.

The city is one of the seven medieval Hausa kingdoms.

Located in the Savanna, south of the Sahel, Kano is a major route of the trans-Saharan trade, having been a trade and human settlement for many years.

Prior to the creation of Kano State in 1967, it was the largest Hausa Kingdom in Africa that is currently 1000 years old, based on an ancient settlement around Dala Hill.