List of Nigeria power distribution companies

Nigeria has 11 power distribution companies, namely:

  1. Abuja Electricity Distribution Plc (AEDC) 
  2. Benin Electricity Distribution Company (BEDC)
  3. Eko Electricity Distribution Plc (EKEDC) 
  4. Enugu Electricity Distribution Plc (EEDC) 
  5. Ibadan Electricity Distribution Plc (IBEDC) 
  6. Ikeja Electricity Distribution Company (IKEDC) 
  7. Jos Electricity Distribution Plc (JEDC) 
  8. Kaduna Electricity Distribution Plc (KAEDCO) 
  9. Kano Electricity Distribution Plc (KEDC) 
  10. Port Harcourt Electricity Distribution Plc (PHEDC) 
  11. Yola Electricity Distribution Company Plc (YEDC) 

These distribution companies, which are known as ‘Discos’ are non-government companies with their board of directors and management team.

Except for Lagos State, all states have a single distribution company that serves them.

The electricity distribution companies are:

Abuja Electricity Distribution Plc (AEDC) 

Abuja Electricity Distribution Company (AEDC) has a franchise for the distribution and sale of electricity across the Federal Capital Territory, Niger State, Kogi State, and Nasarawa State.  

  • KANN Utility Limited (KANN) is the 60% equity holder in AEDC while the Federal Government of Nigeria holds a 40% equity. The Disco is located at Ziquinchor Street, Off IBB Way, Wuse Zone 4, Abuja.

Benin Electricity Distribution Company 

BEDC is in charge of retail electricity distribution in Delta, Edo, Ekiti, and Ondo States, with a geographical coverage of 55,770 square kilometers.

  • The company operates from twenty-five (25) business districts with approximately 350 offices spread across four (4) states with a population of approximately 13 million people and approximately 4 million households.  

Eko Electricity Distribution Plc (EKEDC) 

Eko Disco’s head office is located at 24/25 Marina Street, Lagos Island, and covers one part of Lagos State.

  • The Disco covers Lagos South (Ojo, Festac, Ijora, Mushin (also Orile areas), Apapa, Lekki (also Ibeju areas), Lagos Island (also Ajele areas) and parts of Ogun State (Agbara).  

Enugu Electricity Distribution Plc (EEDC) 

This Disco’s head office is located at 62 Okpara Avenue, Enugu, Enugu State, and covers Abia, Anambra, Enugu, Ebonyi, and Imo.  

Ibadan Electricity Distribution Plc (IBEDC) 

Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company (IBEDC) is among the Discos with the highest number of customers.

  • The Disco’s head office is located in the Capital Building, 115 MKO Abiola Way, Ibadan, Oyo State, covering Oyo, Ogun, Osun, Kwara, and parts of Niger, Ekiti, and Kogi states.

Ikeja Electricity Distribution Company (IKEDC) 

It is the largest power distribution company in Sub-Saharan Africa with head office located on Secretariat Road, Obafemi Awolowo Way, Alausa-Ikeja.  

  • The Disco operates 6 business unit (BU) which includes: Abule Egba BU, Ikeja BU, Shomolu BU, Ikorodu BU, Oshodi BU, and Akowonjo BU.
  • Ikeja Electric services the northern part of Lagos state, servicing over one million customers.

Jos Electricity Distribution Plc (JEDC) 

JEDC is located at 9 Ahmadu Bello Way, Jos, Plateau State and covers Bauchi, Benue, Gombe, and Plateau state.

  • It was one of the first DisCos re-taken by the government from its core investors.

Kaduna Electricity Distribution Plc (KAEDCO) 

Kaduna Electric currently has 8 Area offices and 147 customer service centers across the four states with a customer population of about 490,000.

  • Kaduna Electric is the 7th largest DisCo in distribution capacity and the 6th largest in the number of households among the 11 Distribution Companies (DisCos).
  • The office is located in Ahmadu Bello Way, Kaduna, Kaduna State, and covers Kaduna, Kebbi, Sokoto, and Zamfara states.

Kano Electricity Distribution Plc (KEDC) 

KEDC head office is located at 1 Niger Street, Kano State covering Kano, Katsina, and Jigawa states.

  • KEDC gets its bulk power supply from the following: Kumbotso, Zaria Town, and Jos Transmission Stations.  

Port Harcourt Electricity Distribution Plc (PHEDC) 

PHEDC is at Moscow Road, Port-Harcourt, and Rivers State and delivers power for a total of 14 million people across Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross River, and Rivers state.

Yola Electricity Distribution Company Plc (YEDC) 

YEDC is located at No 2 Atiku Abubakar Road, Jimeta-Yola, Adamawa State, and is the distribution company responsible for the distribution of energy to Adamawa, Taraba, Borno, and Yobe states of Nigeria.

  • YEDC is located at No 2 Atiku Abubakar Road, Jimeta-Yola, Adamawa State. It was formally taken over by Quest Electricity Nigeria Limited on 1st January 2022.

The electricity sector in Nigeria generates, transmits and distributes megawatts (MW) of electric power that is significantly less than what is needed to meet basic household and industrial needs.

Nigeria has 23 power generating plants connected to the national grid with the capacity to generate 11,165.4 MW of electricity.

These plants are managed by generation companies (GenCos), independent power providers, and Niger Delta Holding Company.

In 2012, the industry distributed 5,000 MW, less than the 40,000 MW needed to sustain the basic needs of the population.

The Federal Government of Nigeria has licensed 17 Independent Electricity Distribution Network operators of which 11 are operational.

The 11 operational ones are :

  1. Gateway Electricity Limited
  2. Energy Company of Nigeria Plc
  3. PIPP LVI Disco Limited
  4. Bodituv Nigeria Limited
  5. Uraga Power Distribution Company
  6. Ariaria Independent Energy Distribution Network Ltd
  7. Ladol Integrated Logistics Free Zone Enterprise
  8. Babcock Consulting Limited
  9. Constant Independent Electric Power Distribution Company Ltd
  10. Alausa Distribution Limited
  11. Notore Industrial City Limited.

Nigeria is a country in Africa, a regional power on the continent and an emerging power on the international scene.

It has 36 states and a Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

Having being divided into states, the country is further divided into 774 Local Government Areas (LGAs).

The LGAs are under the control of their respective states.

The country has the largest economy in Africa.

Nigeria’s population is over 230 million, making it number 1 most populated country in Africa, and number 6 in the world.

Tiv people of Nigeria

It covers an area of 923,769 square kilometres (356,669 sq mi).

It is situated between the Sahel to the north and the Gulf of Guinea to the south in the Atlantic Ocean.

Abuja City Gate

Nigeria borders Niger in the north, Chad in the northeast, Cameroon in the east, and Benin in the west.

It is often referred to as the Giant of Africa owing to its large population and economy and is considered to be an emerging market by the World Bank.

National Assembly building

However, the country ranks very low in the Human Development Index and remains one of the most corrupt nations in the world.

Maitama, Abuja with Hilton Hotel’s high-rise building in the foreground

The largest city in Nigeria is Lagos, one of the largest metropolitan areas in the world and the largest in Africa.

Lagos, the commercial capital and main sea port city

Nigeria is a multinational state inhabited by more than 250 ethnic groups speaking 500 distinct languages, all identifying with a wide variety of cultures.

The official language is English, chosen to facilitate linguistic unity at the national level.

Nigeria is a founding member of AU (African Union) and a member of other international organizations including UN (United Nations), Commonwealth of Nations and ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States).