Ogun State Judges, 2015

The Judges in Ogun State, their names and judicial divisions as of 2015

  1. Hon. Justice O. O. Olopade
    The Hon. Chief Judge Chief Judge’s Chambers, High Court of Justice, Abeokuta
  2. Hon. Justice N. I. Saula
    High Court of Justice, Abeokuta
  3. Hon. Justice P. A. Onamade
    High Court of Justice, Abeokuta
  4. Hon. Justice M. A. Dipeolu
    High Court of Justice, Sagamu
  5. Hon. Justice O. Mabekoje
    High Court of Justice, Ijebu-Ode
  6. Hon. Justice M. A. Ojo
    High Court of Justice, Ota
  7. Hon. Justice o. A. M. Onafowokan
    High Court of Justice, lIaro.
  8. Hon. Justice A. A. Akinyemi
    High Court of Justice, Agbara
  9. Hon. Justice O. O. Majekodunmi
    High Court of Justice, Sagamu
  10. Hon. Justice N. I. Agbelu
    High Court of Justice, Ijebu-Igbo
  11. Hon. Justice H. O. Solanke
    High Court of Justice, Ayetoro
  12. Hon. Justice O. S. Olusanya
    High Court of Justice, Abigi
  13. Hon. Justice A. O. Asenuga
    High Court of Justice, Ota
  14. Hon. Justice E. O. Osinuga
    High Court of Justice, Abeokuta
  15. Hon. Justice S. A. Olugbemi
    High Court of Justice, Ijebu-Ode
  16. Hon. Justice A. Rotimi-Balogun
    High Court of Justice, Abeokuta.
  17. Hon. Justice A. A. Babawale
    High Court of Justice, Ota
  18. Hon. Justice C. C. Ogunsanya
    High Court of Justice, Ijebu-Ode
  19. Hon. Justice A. O. Jibodu
    High Court of Justice, Abeokuta
  20. Hon. Justice O. Ogunfowora
    High Court of Justice, Sagamu
  21. Hon. Justice A. T. Lamina
    High Court of Justice, Abeokuta
  22. Hon. Justice T. A. Okunsokan
    High Court of Justice, Ota

Ogun is a major industrial state in Nigeria. It is located in the country’s south western zone.

Nicknamed the “Gateway to Nigeria”, the state is notable for having a high concentration of industrial estates and being a major manufacturing hub in Nigeria.

Major factories in Ogun include the Dangote Cement factory in Ibese, Nestle, Lafarge Cement factory in Ewekoro, Memmcol in Orimerunmu, Coleman Cables in Sagamu and Arepo, Procter & Gamble in Agbara, amongst others.

It was created on 3 February 1976 from the former Western State.

Ogun State borders Lagos State to the south, Oyo State and Osun State to the north, Ondo State to the east, and the Republic of Benin to the west.

Abeokuta is both Ogun State’s capital and most populous city

Important cities
Important cities in the state include Abeokuta , Ijebu Ode, the royal capital of the Ijebu Kingdom, and Sagamu, Nigeria’s leading kola nut grower.

Ogun state is covered predominantly by rain forest and has wooden savanna in the northwest.

Land area
Ogun State has a Land Area of 16,409.26 square kilometers.

Major tribe
Ogun State is mostly Yoruba with the Yoruba language serving as the major one in the state.

The main religion in Ogun State is Christianity. A certain amount of other religions are being practiced.

Ogun State is noted for being the almost exclusive site of Ofada rice production.

Olumo Rock in Abeokuta, Birikisu Sugbo Shrine at Oke-Eri, Yemoji Natural Swimming Pool at Ijebu-Ode, Oyan Dam in Abeokuta North, Iwopin Boat Regatta and Ebute-Oni in Ogun Waterside.

Other Sites are Madam Tinubu Shrine in Abeokuta, Oronna Shrine in Ilaro, Area J4 Forest Reserve; Tongeji Island in Ipokia, Old Manse at Ogbe, Abeokuta, St. James Anglican School, Ota and Ijamido River Shrine in Ota.
Check out our Tourism Gallery

Abeokuta South
Ewekoro Ijebu East
Ijebu North
Ijebu North-East
Obafemi/ Owode
Ogun Waterside
Remo North
Yewa North
Yewa South
Abeokuta -North

The People of Ogun State belong to the Yoruba Ethnic Group of South-West Nigeria and also live in parts of Benin Republic and Togo, with substantial Diaspora elements in Brazil, Cuba and Sierra Leone, consequential to the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade.

The Sub-groups are mainly the Egba, Yewa, Awori, Egun, Ijebu, Remo, Ikale and Ilaje, Anago, Ketu, Ohori etc.

Ogun is also home to many icons in Nigeria in particular and Africa in general.

Ogun sons and daughters make their mark in diverse professions and have contributed in no small measure to the development of the state and Nigeria both at home and abroad.

Ogun State has produced icons and pioneers such as:

• Alexander Akintola Sapara-Williams
The first Nigerian Lawyer

• Hon. Justice Olumuyiwa Jibowu
The first Nigerian Judge to sit on the Supreme Court Bench

• Sir Adetokunbo Ademola
The first Indigenous Chief Justice of Nigeria

• Chief Simeon Adebo
Pioneer Permanent Secretary, Head of Civil Service and Permanent Representative of Nigeria at the United Nations

• Chief Obafemi Awolowo
The first Nigerian Lawyer to head a Regional Government

• Professor Wole Soyinka
Black Africa’s first Nobel Laureate

• Adeoye Lambo
One-time Deputy Director General of the World Health Organisation

• Prof. Anthony Asiwaju
Renowned Historian

• Chief J. F. Odunjo
Foremost Author

• Oluṣẹgun Arẹmu Ọbasanjọ
A former Nigerian Army general and former President of Nigeria

Yoruba and English (Official Language) and several dialects of the sub-groups.

Agemo, Lisabi, Ogun, Igunnuko, Orisa-Oko, Egungun, Obirin-Ojowu, Gelede, Oro, Ojude-Oba and Sango.

The population of Ogun State based on 2006 Census was 3,751,140 comprising of 1,864,907 Males and 1,886,233 Females.

However, the projected population as at 2011 Census is 4,397,604 with 2,186,301 Males and 2,211,303 Females

The State is endowed with a favourable climate and good vegetation for all year round cultivation of various cash and food crops as well as livestock rearing.

The climate is also conducive for business and industrial growth. In Ogun State, we have in the south, the evergreen forest vegetation and soil most suitable for the cultivation of cash and food crops like oil palm, rice, kola- nut, cocoa, cotton, cassava, cocoyam and vegetables. While in the north, we have a vast grazing savannah land that is suitable for animal husbandry. In addition to this, there are forest reserves, rivers and lagoons with a beautiful ocean front down south that is good for beach resorts.

The State has natural resources that include forest and water bodies as well as large quantities of mineral deposits, such as limestone, phosphate, granite stone, gypsum, bauxite, bitumen, feldspar, clay, glass sand, kaolin, quartz, tar sand and gemstones.