Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly members, 2014

Members of Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly as of 2014

Rt. Hon. Udo K. Akpan

 Deputy Speaker & Oruk Anam State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Samuel Ikon

 House Speaker & Etinan State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Okpolupum Ette

 House Leader & Ibeno / Esit Eket State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Ekaette Okon

 Deputy Leader & Itu State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Alice Ekpenyong

 Chief Whip & Mbo State Constituency

Rt. Hon. E. Akpan

 Deputy Chief Whip & Essien Udim State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Paul Owo

 Ini State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Anietie Etuk

 Nsit Ibom State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Nsikak Ekong

 Ikot Ekpene / Obot Akara State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Ekong Sampson

 Mkpat Enin State Constituency

Rt. Hon. E. O. Etukudo

 Ibesikpo Asutan State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Victor Udofia

 Ikono State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Ayang A. Ayang

 Eket State Constituency

Rt. Hon. E.E. Antigha

 Okobo State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Gabriel Toby

 Ika / Etim Ekpo State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Friday Iwok

 Abak State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Sarah S. Elijah

 Nsit Atai State Constituency

Hon. Bassey Etienam

 Urue Offong / Oruko

Rt. Hon. Godwin Oton

 Onna State Constituency

Hon. Onofiok Luke

 Nsit Ubium State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Kufre Etuk

 Uruan State Constituency

Rt. Hon. J. Isangedihi

 Oron / Udung Uko State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Ime B. Okon

 Ibiono State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Aniekan Akpan

 Ukanafun State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Edwin Joseph

 Uyo State Constituency

Rt. Hon. Aboh Uduyok

 Ikot Abasi / Eastern Obolo State Constituency

Reference: akwaibomstate.gov.ng/state-assembly-members/

Akwa Ibom is a state in Nigeria. It was created on September 23, 1987 from Cross River State.

Located in the South Eastern part of the country, Akwa Ibom is a key member of Nigeria’s South South Zone, rich in crude oil, natural gas and a diversity of agricultural produce. 

Over 5000 expatriates working for various organisations like Exxon Mobil, Shell, Chevron, Elf, the Aluminum Smelter Company, ALSCON, Forrestal, Reynold International and the University of Uyo have found a home here.

Capital City: Uyo

Other Major Cities: Eket, Ikot Ekpene, Abak, Ikot Abasi and Oron.

Ethnic Groups: Multi-ethnic: Ibibio, Anang, Oron, Eket, Ibeno, Mbo

Location: Latitude 4o 32’ and 5o53’ North and Longitude 7o25’ and 8o25 East.

Area: 8,412 square kilometers

Climate: Tropical climate marked by two distinct seasons; the dry season (November – March) and the wet season (April – October). The wet season is usually interrupted by a short dry spell in August.

Mean annual rainfall is 2,200mm in the north of the state and 3,500mm in the south of the state.

Sunshine is between 1,400 to 1,500 hours per year. Average temperature range from 23oC to 31oC.

Vegetation: Three easily distinguishable vegetation; the saline water swamp forest, the fresh water swamp forest and the rainforest.

Mineral Resources: Crude oil, natural gas, limestone, gold, salt, coal, silver nitrate, glass sand, kaolin.

The major industrial crop is the oil palm tree. The Akwa Ibom has the densest groves of oil palm in Nigeria. The Akwa Palm Industries PLC was set up in 1991 to harness the full potential of this crop.

The production of crude palm oil will allow for downstream industries which can refine the oil into vegetable oil, soaps, margarine, glycerin, candles, detergents and numerous other products. The kernel oil is used for the manufacture of high quality toilet soap. Bye product from the oil palm industries are used for the production of livestock feeds.

Arable Crops

Horticultural or Fruit Crops
African peas

Vegetable Crops
Leafy vegetable

Cash Crops
Oil palm
Raffia palm

Although Akwa Ibom is mineral-rich, agriculture is the bedrock of its economy. It employs about 70 percent of the state’s workforce. Most are engaged in subsistent farming. The industrial sector is small and is dominated by government owned companies. The private sector is active in the service areas, although a few industries are privately owned.

At inception, the state inherited a number of companies from Cross River State. These are:

  • Sunshine Batteries, Essien Udim
  • Peacock Paint, Etinam
  • Quality Ceramic Industries, Itu
  • Qua Steal Products Limited, Eket
  • Asbestonit Industries, Oron
  • Plasto – Crown Industries, Uyo
  • International Biscuits Limited, Ikot Ekpene
  • Champion Breweries, Uyo
  • Pamil Industries, Abak

Most of the companies are ailing, becoming a drain on government. As part of the economic policies, these companies are to be revived and privatized. Government is diverting its interest in them in line with overall philosophy to focus on creating an enabling environment for private sector initiatives to flourish.

The LGAs (Local Government Areas) in Akwa Ibom State are:

  1. Abak
  2. Eastern Obolo
  3. Eket
  4. Esit Eket
  5. Essien Udim
  6. Etim Ekpo
  7. Etinan
  8. Ibeno
  9. Ibesikpo Asutan
  10. Ibiono Ibom
  11. Ika
  12. Ikono
  13. Ikot Abasi
  14. Ikot Ekpene
  15. Ini
  16. Itu
  17. Mbo
  18. Mkpat Enin
  19. Nsit Atai
  20. Nsit Ibom
  21. Nsit Ubium
  22. Obot Akara
  23. Okobo
  24. Onna
  25. Oron
  26. Oruk Anam
  27. Udung Uko
  28. Ukanafun
  29. Uruan
  30. Urue-Offong/Oruko
  31. Uyo