This Local Government Area was carved out of old Remo Local Government, and came into being on 23rd September 1991. It has a land area of about 68.03 sq. km, its headquarters in Sagamu, and bounded by Odogbolu, Local Government, Lagos State, Ikenne Local Government and Obafemi Owode Local Government in the east, north and west respectively.

Sagamu Local Government has 15 wards, divided into Oko, Epe & Itunla I ward, Okop Epe & Itunla II, Aiyegbami/Ijoku, Sabo I, Sabo II, Itunsoku/Oyebajo, Ijagba, Latawa, Ode-Lemo, Ogijo/Ikosi, Surulere, Isote, Simawa, Agbowa and Ibido/Itun Alara.

The Local Government Area is peopled by all tribes in Nigeria, though Remo dialect of Yoruba language is the main Local language.

The projected population of this Local Government Area is about 203,350 (1997 census figures).

The people are predominantly farmers, this area produced the best farmer of the year 1993 at both the state and national levels.

There is freedom of worship for every one, however Christians and Muslims are found in the area, while some take to traditional religion.

The Local Government has 77 public primary schools and 14 secondary schools. There are also an appreciative number of private investments in the education industry.

This Local Government Area has traditional rulers, namely:
Oba (Dr.) M.A.Sonariwo Akarigbo of Remo
Oba O.E. Ogunsowo Ewuri of Makun
Oba M.A. Oduyemi Alado of Ado
Oba A.G. Awosanya Odofin of Sonyindo
Oba S.T. Solesi Lemo of Ode-Lemo
Oba G.A. Adebanjo Elemuren of Emuren
Oba S.A.A. Adesanya Onijagba of Ijagba
Elekpe of Epe
Oba J. Sosanya Atawa of Latawa
Oba E.O. Osho Odogun of Ipoji
Oba E.O. Osho Amunisan of Oko
Oba A. Lawal Alagura of Agura
Oba S.A. Bello Legunsen of Ilupeju
Oba A.A. Adeniyi Onironiken of Raniken
Oba O. Keripe Olorilu of Ijoku
Oba S.A.B. Odeyemi Lowa Ibu of Batoro
Oba T.O. Adebayo Nebuwa of Ibido
Oba S. Ogunjimi Oselu of Okeselu
Oba Y. Alayo Radanuwa of Idado
Oba O. Ogidan Onigode of Igode
Oba A. Kusole Oniraye of Iraye
Oba O.A. Akinsanya Olugbepa of Igbepa
Oba J.A.A. Ogunleye Onilaye of Ulaye

Ogun is a major industrial state in Nigeria. It is located in the country’s south western zone.

Nicknamed the “Gateway to Nigeria”, the state is notable for having a high concentration of industrial estates and being a major manufacturing hub in Nigeria.

Major factories in Ogun include the Dangote Cement factory in Ibese, Nestle, Lafarge Cement factory in Ewekoro, Memmcol in Orimerunmu, Coleman Cables in Sagamu and Arepo, Procter & Gamble in Agbara, amongst others.

It was created on 3 February 1976 from the former Western State.

Ogun State borders Lagos State to the south, Oyo State and Osun State to the north, Ondo State to the east, and the Republic of Benin to the west.

Abeokuta is both Ogun State’s capital and most populous city

Important cities
Important cities in the state include Abeokuta , Ijebu Ode, the royal capital of the Ijebu Kingdom, and Sagamu, Nigeria’s leading kola nut grower.

Ogun state is covered predominantly by rain forest and has wooden savanna in the northwest.

Land area
Ogun State has a Land Area of 16,409.26 square kilometers.

Major tribe
Ogun State is mostly Yoruba with the Yoruba language serving as the major one in the state.

The main religion in Ogun State is Christianity. A certain amount of other religions are being practiced.

Ogun State is noted for being the almost exclusive site of Ofada rice production.

Olumo Rock in Abeokuta, Birikisu Sugbo Shrine at Oke-Eri, Yemoji Natural Swimming Pool at Ijebu-Ode, Oyan Dam in Abeokuta North, Iwopin Boat Regatta and Ebute-Oni in Ogun Waterside.

Other Sites are Madam Tinubu Shrine in Abeokuta, Oronna Shrine in Ilaro, Area J4 Forest Reserve; Tongeji Island in Ipokia, Old Manse at Ogbe, Abeokuta, St. James Anglican School, Ota and Ijamido River Shrine in Ota.
Check out our Tourism Gallery


  1. Abeokuta -North
  2. Abeokuta South
  3. Ado-Odo/Ota
  4. Ewekoro
  5. Ifo
  6. Ijebu East
  7. Ijebu North
  8. Ijebu North-East
  9. Ijebu-Ode
  10. Ikenne
  11. Imeko-Afon
  12. Ipokia
  13. Obafemi/ Owode
  14. Odeda
  15. Odogbolu
  16. Ogun Waterside
  17. Remo North
  18. Sagamu
  19. Yewa North
  20. Yewa South

The People of Ogun State belong to the Yoruba Ethnic Group of South-West Nigeria and also live in parts of Benin Republic and Togo, with substantial Diaspora elements in Brazil, Cuba and Sierra Leone, consequential to the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade.

The Sub-groups are mainly the Egba, Yewa, Awori, Egun, Ijebu, Remo, Ikale and Ilaje, Anago, Ketu, Ohori etc.

Ogun is also home to many icons in Nigeria in particular and Africa in general.

Ogun sons and daughters make their mark in diverse professions and have contributed in no small measure to the development of the state and Nigeria both at home and abroad.

Ogun State has produced icons and pioneers such as:

• Alexander Akintola Sapara-Williams
The first Nigerian Lawyer

• Hon. Justice Olumuyiwa Jibowu
The first Nigerian Judge to sit on the Supreme Court Bench

• Sir Adetokunbo Ademola
The first Indigenous Chief Justice of Nigeria

• Chief Simeon Adebo
Pioneer Permanent Secretary, Head of Civil Service and Permanent Representative of Nigeria at the United Nations

• Chief Obafemi Awolowo
The first Nigerian Lawyer to head a Regional Government

• Professor Wole Soyinka
Black Africa’s first Nobel Laureate

• Adeoye Lambo
One-time Deputy Director General of the World Health Organisation

• Prof. Anthony Asiwaju
Renowned Historian

• Chief J. F. Odunjo
Foremost Author

• Oluṣẹgun Arẹmu Ọbasanjọ
A former Nigerian Army general and former President of Nigeria

Yoruba and English (Official Language) and several dialects of the sub-groups.

Agemo, Lisabi, Ogun, Igunnuko, Orisa-Oko, Egungun, Obirin-Ojowu, Gelede, Oro, Ojude-Oba and Sango.

The population of Ogun State based on 2006 Census was 3,751,140 comprising of 1,864,907 Males and 1,886,233 Females.

However, the projected population as at 2011 Census is 4,397,604 with 2,186,301 Males and 2,211,303 Females

The State is endowed with a favourable climate and good vegetation for all year round cultivation of various cash and food crops as well as livestock rearing.

The climate is also conducive for business and industrial growth. In Ogun State, we have in the south, the evergreen forest vegetation and soil most suitable for the cultivation of cash and food crops like oil palm, rice, kola- nut, cocoa, cotton, cassava, cocoyam and vegetables. While in the north, we have a vast grazing savannah land that is suitable for animal husbandry. In addition to this, there are forest reserves, rivers and lagoons with a beautiful ocean front down south that is good for beach resorts.

The State has natural resources that include forest and water bodies as well as large quantities of mineral deposits, such as limestone, phosphate, granite stone, gypsum, bauxite, bitumen, feldspar, clay, glass sand, kaolin, quartz, tar sand and gemstones.