World Heritage Sites in Italy

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Italy are:

  1. Rock Drawings in Valcamonica
  2. Church and Dominican Convent of Santa Maria delle Grazie with “The Last Supper” by Leonardo da Vinci
  3. Historic Centre of Rome, the Properties of the Holy See in that City Enjoying Extraterritorial Rights and San Paolo Fuori le Mura
  4. Historic Centre of Florence
  5. Piazza del Duomo, Pisa
  6. Venice and its Lagoon
  7. Historic Centre of San Gimignano
  8. The Sassi and the Park of the Rupestrian Churches of Matera
  9. City of Vicenza and the Palladian Villas of the Veneto
  10. Crespi d’Adda
  11. Ferrara, City of the Renaissance, and its Po Delta
  12. Historic Centre of Naples
  13. Historic Centre of Siena
  14. Castel del Monte
  15. Early Christian Monuments of Ravenna
  16. Historic Centre of the City of Pienza
  17. The Trulli of Alberobello
  18. 18th-Century Royal Palace at Caserta with the Park, the Aqueduct of Vanvitelli, and the San Leucio Complex
  19. Archaeological Area of Agrigento
  20. Archaeological Areas of Pompei, Herculaneum and Torre Annunziata
  21. Botanical Garden (Orto Botanico), Padua
  22. Cathedral, Torre Civica and Piazza Grande, Modena
  23. Costiera Amalfitana
  24. Portovenere, Cinque Terre, and the Islands (Palmaria, Tino and Tinetto)
  25. Residences of the Royal House of Savoy
  26. Su Nuraxi di Barumini
  27. Villa Romana del Casale
  28. Archaeological Area and the Patriarchal Basilica of Aquileia
  29. Cilento and Vallo di Diano National Park with the Archeological Sites of Paestum and Velia, and the Certosa di Padula
  30. Historic Centre of Urbino
  31. Villa Adriana (Tivoli)
  32. Assisi, the Basilica of San Francesco and Other Franciscan Sites
  33. City of Verona
  34. Isole Eolie (Aeolian Islands)
  35. Villa d’Este, Tivoli
  36. Late Baroque Towns of the Val di Noto (South-Eastern Sicily)
  37. Sacri Monti of Piedmont and Lombardy
  38. Monte San Giorgio
  39. Etruscan Necropolises of Cerveteri and Tarquinia
  40. Val d’Orcia
  41. Syracuse and the Rocky Necropolis of Pantalica
  42. Genoa: Le Strade Nuove and the system of the Palazzi dei Rolli
  43. Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe
  44. Mantua and Sabbioneta
  45. Rhaetian Railway in the Albula / Bernina Landscapes
  46. The Dolomites
  47. Longobards in Italy. Places of the Power (568-774 A.D.)
  48. Prehistoric Pile Dwellings around the Alps
  49. Medici Villas and Gardens in Tuscany
  50. Mount Etna
  51. Vineyard Landscape of Piedmont: Langhe-Roero and Monferrato
  52. Arab-Norman Palermo and the Cathedral Churches of Cefalú and Monreale
  53. Venetian Works of Defence between the 16th and 17th Centuries: Stato da Terra – Western Stato da Mar
  54. Ivrea, industrial city of the 20th century
  55. Le Colline del Prosecco di Conegliano e Valdobbiadene
  56. Padua’s fourteenth-century fresco cycles
  57. The Great Spa Towns of Europe
  58. The Porticoes of Bologna
  59. Evaporitic Karst and Caves of Northern Apennines

> View other UNESCO World Heritage Sites

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Sites comprise 1,199 properties.

World heritage property is a legacy from the past, that people live with today, and pass on to future generations.

World Heritage symbol. It is used to identify properties protected by the World Heritage Convention

The cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of knowledge and inspiration.

Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela, Ethiopia. UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela
Speyer Cathedral, Germany
Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Sukur Cultural Landscape, Adamawa, Nigeria

UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world that are considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty known as the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

A World Heritage Site is an area or landmark designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other forms of significance. The sites have legal protection by an international convention.

A World Heritage Site is nominated by their host country and determined by the international committee to be a unique landmark which is geographically and historically identifiable and having a special cultural or physical significance. World Heritage Sites are usually ones with ancient features, historical structures, buildings, cities, deserts, forests, islands, lakes, monuments or mountains.

The site may signify a remarkable accomplishment of people and serve as evidence of intellectual history or a place of unparralled natural beauty.

The sites are intended for practical conservation for posterity, which otherwise would be subject to risk from human or animal trespassing, unmonitored, uncontrolled or unrestricted access, or threat from local administrative negligence. Sites are demarcated by UNESCO as protected zones.

The programme catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance.

The work began with the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage. The convention was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on 16 November 1972. Since then, 195 states have ratified the convention, making it one of the most widely recognised international agreements and a popular cultural programme.