World Heritage Sites in Brazil

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Brazil are:

  1. Historic Town of Ouro Preto
  2. Historic Centre of the Town of Olinda
  3. Jesuit Missions of the Guaranis: San Ignacio Mini, Santa Ana, Nuestra Señora de Loreto and Santa Maria Mayor (Argentina), Ruins of Sao Miguel das Missoes (Brazil)
  4. Historic Centre of Salvador de Bahia
  5. Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Congonhas
  6. Iguaçu National Park
  7. Brasilia
  8. Serra da Capivara National Park
  9. Historic Centre of São Luís
  10. Atlantic Forest South-East Reserves
  11. Discovery Coast Atlantic Forest Reserves
  12. Historic Centre of the Town of Diamantina
  13. Central Amazon Conservation Complex
  14. Pantanal Conservation Area
  15. Brazilian Atlantic Islands: Fernando de Noronha and Atol das Rocas Reserves
  16. Cerrado Protected Areas: Chapada dos Veadeiros and Emas National Parks
  17. Historic Centre of the Town of Goiás
  18. São Francisco Square in the Town of São Cristóvão
  19. Rio de Janeiro: Carioca Landscapes between the Mountain and the Sea
  20. Pampulha Modern Ensemble
  21. Valongo Wharf Archaeological Site
  22. Paraty and Ilha Grande – Culture and Biodiversity
  23. Sítio Roberto Burle Marx

> View other UNESCO World Heritage Sites

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Sites comprise 1,199 properties.

World heritage property is a legacy from the past, that people live with today, and pass on to future generations.

World Heritage symbol. It is used to identify properties protected by the World Heritage Convention

The cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of knowledge and inspiration.

Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela, Ethiopia. UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela
Speyer Cathedral, Germany
Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Sukur Cultural Landscape, Adamawa, Nigeria

UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world that are considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty known as the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

A World Heritage Site is an area or landmark designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other forms of significance. The sites have legal protection by an international convention.

A World Heritage Site is nominated by their host country and determined by the international committee to be a unique landmark which is geographically and historically identifiable and having a special cultural or physical significance. World Heritage Sites are usually ones with ancient features, historical structures, buildings, cities, deserts, forests, islands, lakes, monuments or mountains.

The site may signify a remarkable accomplishment of people and serve as evidence of intellectual history or a place of unparralled natural beauty.

The sites are intended for practical conservation for posterity, which otherwise would be subject to risk from human or animal trespassing, unmonitored, uncontrolled or unrestricted access, or threat from local administrative negligence. Sites are demarcated by UNESCO as protected zones.

The programme catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance.

The work began with the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage. The convention was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on 16 November 1972. Since then, 195 states have ratified the convention, making it one of the most widely recognised international agreements and a popular cultural programme.