World Heritage Sites in Poland

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Poland are:

  1. Historic Centre of Kraków
  2. Wieliczka and Bochnia Royal Salt Mines
  3. Auschwitz Birkenau
  4. German Nazi Concentration and Extermination Camp (1940-1945)
  5. Białowieża Forest
  6. Historic Centre of Warsaw
  7. Old City of Zamość
  8. Castle of the Teutonic Order in Malbork
  9. Medieval Town of Toruń
  10. Kalwaria Zebrzydowska: the Mannerist Architectural and Park Landscape Complex and Pilgrimage Park
  11. Churches of Peace in Jawor and Świdnica
  12. Wooden Churches of Southern Małopolska
  13. Muskauer Park / Park Mużakowski
  14. Centennial Hall in Wrocław
  15. Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe
  16. Wooden Tserkvas of the Carpathian Region in Poland and Ukraine
  17. Tarnowskie Góry Lead-Silver-Zinc Mine and its Underground Water Management System
  18. Krzemionki Prehistoric Striped Flint Mining Region

> View other UNESCO World Heritage Sites

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Sites comprise 1,199 properties.

World heritage property is a legacy from the past, that people live with today, and pass on to future generations.

World Heritage symbol. It is used to identify properties protected by the World Heritage Convention

The cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of knowledge and inspiration.

Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela, Ethiopia. UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela
Speyer Cathedral, Germany
Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Sukur Cultural Landscape, Adamawa, Nigeria

UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world that are considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty known as the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

A World Heritage Site is an area or landmark designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other forms of significance. The sites have legal protection by an international convention.

A World Heritage Site is nominated by their host country and determined by the international committee to be a unique landmark which is geographically and historically identifiable and having a special cultural or physical significance. World Heritage Sites are usually ones with ancient features, historical structures, buildings, cities, deserts, forests, islands, lakes, monuments or mountains.

The site may signify a remarkable accomplishment of people and serve as evidence of intellectual history or a place of unparralled natural beauty.

The sites are intended for practical conservation for posterity, which otherwise would be subject to risk from human or animal trespassing, unmonitored, uncontrolled or unrestricted access, or threat from local administrative negligence. Sites are demarcated by UNESCO as protected zones.

The programme catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance.

The work began with the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage. The convention was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on 16 November 1972. Since then, 195 states have ratified the convention, making it one of the most widely recognised international agreements and a popular cultural programme.