World Heritage Sites in France

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in France are:

  1. Chartres Cathedral
  2. Mont-Saint-Michel and its Bay
  3. Palace and Park of Versailles
  4. Prehistoric Sites and Decorated Caves of the Vézère Valley
  5. Vézelay, Church and Hill
  6. Amiens Cathedral
  7. Arles, Roman and Romanesque Monuments
  8. Cistercian Abbey of Fontenay
  9. Palace and Park of Fontainebleau
  10. Roman Theatre and its Surroundings and the “Triumphal Arch” of Orange
  11. From the Great Saltworks of Salins-les-Bains to the Royal Saltworks of Arc-et-Senans, the Production of Open-pan Salt
  12. Abbey Church of Saint-Savin sur Gartempe
  13. Gulf of Porto: Calanche of Piana, Gulf of Girolata, Scandola Reserve
  14. Place Stanislas, Place de la Carrière and Place d’Alliance in Nancy
  15. Pont du Gard (Roman Aqueduct)
  16. Strasbourg, Grande-Île and Neustadt
  17. Cathedral of Notre-Dame, Former Abbey of Saint-Rémi and Palace of Tau, Reims
  18. Paris, Banks of the Seine
  19. Bourges Cathedral
  20. Historic Centre of Avignon: Papal Palace, Episcopal Ensemble and Avignon Bridge
  21. Canal du Midi
  22. Historic Fortified City of Carcassonne
  23. Pyrénées – Mont Perdu
  24. Historic Site of Lyon
  25. Routes of Santiago de Compostela in France
  26. Belfries of Belgium and France 9
  27. Jurisdiction of Saint-Emilion
  28. The Loire Valley between Sully-sur-Loire and Chalonnes 10
  29. Provins, Town of Medieval Fairs
  30. Le Havre, the City Rebuilt by Auguste Perret
  31. Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe
  32. Bordeaux, Port of the Moon
  33. Fortifications of Vauban
  34. Lagoons of New Caledonia: Reef Diversity and Associated Ecosystems
  35. Episcopal City of Albi
  36. Pitons, cirques and remparts of Reunion Island
  37. Prehistoric Pile Dwellings around the Alps
  38. The Causses and the Cévennes, Mediterranean agro-pastoral Cultural Landscape
  39. Nord-Pas de Calais Mining Basin
  40. Decorated Cave of Pont d’Arc, known as Grotte Chauvet-Pont d’Arc, Ardèche
  41. Champagne Hillsides, Houses and Cellars
  42. The Climats, terroirs of Burgundy
  43. The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier, an Outstanding Contribution to the Modern Movement
  44. Taputapuātea
  45. Chaîne des Puys – Limagne fault tectonic arena
  46. French Austral Lands and Seas
  47. Cordouan Lighthouse
  48. Nice, Winter Resort Town of the Riviera
  49. The Great Spa Towns of Europe
  50. Funerary and memory sites of the First World War (Western Front)
  51. The Maison Carrée of Nîmes
  52. Volcanoes and Forests of Mount Pelée and the Pitons of Northern Martinique

> View other UNESCO World Heritage Sites

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Sites comprise 1,199 properties.

World heritage property is a legacy from the past, that people live with today, and pass on to future generations.

World Heritage symbol. It is used to identify properties protected by the World Heritage Convention

The cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of knowledge and inspiration.

Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela, Ethiopia. UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela
Speyer Cathedral, Germany
Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Sukur Cultural Landscape, Adamawa, Nigeria

UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world that are considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty known as the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

A World Heritage Site is an area or landmark designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other forms of significance. The sites have legal protection by an international convention.

A World Heritage Site is nominated by their host country and determined by the international committee to be a unique landmark which is geographically and historically identifiable and having a special cultural or physical significance. World Heritage Sites are usually ones with ancient features, historical structures, buildings, cities, deserts, forests, islands, lakes, monuments or mountains.

The site may signify a remarkable accomplishment of people and serve as evidence of intellectual history or a place of unparralled natural beauty.

The sites are intended for practical conservation for posterity, which otherwise would be subject to risk from human or animal trespassing, unmonitored, uncontrolled or unrestricted access, or threat from local administrative negligence. Sites are demarcated by UNESCO as protected zones.

The programme catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance.

The work began with the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage. The convention was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on 16 November 1972. Since then, 195 states have ratified the convention, making it one of the most widely recognised international agreements and a popular cultural programme.