World Heritage Sites in Germany

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Germany are:

  1. Aachen Cathedral
  2. Speyer Cathedral
  3. Würzburg Residence with the Court Gardens and Residence Square
  4. Pilgrimage Church of Wies
  5. Castles of Augustusburg and Falkenlust at Brühl
  6. St Mary’s Cathedral and St Michael’s Church at Hildesheim
  7. Roman Monuments, Cathedral of St Peter and Church of Our Lady in Trier
  8. Frontiers of the Roman Empire
  9. Hanseatic City of Lübeck
  10. Palaces and Parks of Potsdam and Berlin
  11. Abbey and Altenmünster of Lorsch
  12. Mines of Rammelsberg, Historic Town of Goslar and Upper Harz Water Management System
  13. Maulbronn Monastery Complex
  14. Town of Bamberg
  15. Collegiate Church, Castle and Old Town of Quedlinburg
  16. Völklingen Ironworks
  17. Messel Pit Fossil Site
  18. Bauhaus and its Sites in Weimar, Dessau and Bernau
  19. Cologne Cathedral
  20. Luther Memorials in Eisleben and Wittenberg
  21. Classical Weimar
  22. Museumsinsel (Museum Island), Berlin
  23. Wartburg Castle
  24. Garden Kingdom of Dessau-Wörlitz
  25. Monastic Island of Reichenau
  26. Zollverein Coal Mine Industrial Complex in Essen
  27. Historic Centres of Stralsund and Wismar
  28. Upper Middle Rhine Valley
  29. Dresden Elbe Valley Delisted 2009
  30. Muskauer Park / Park Mużakowski
  31. Town Hall and Roland on the Marketplace of Bremen
  32. Old town of Regensburg with Stadtamhof
  33. Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe
  34. Berlin Modernism Housing Estates
  35. Wadden Sea
  36. Fagus Factory in Alfeld
  37. Prehistoric Pile Dwellings around the Alps
  38. Margravial Opera House Bayreuth
  39. Bergpark Wilhelmshöhe
  40. Carolingian Westwork and Civitas Corvey
  41. Speicherstadt and Kontorhaus District with Chilehaus
  42. The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier, an Outstanding Contribution to the Modern Movement
  43. Caves and Ice Age Art in the Swabian Jura
  44. Archaeological Border complex of Hedeby and the Danevirke
  45. Naumburg Cathedral
  46. Erzgebirge/Krušnohoří Mining Region
  47. Water Management System of Augsburg
  48. Frontiers of the Roman Empire – The Danube Limes (Western Segment)
  49. Frontiers of the Roman Empire – The Lower German Limes
  50. Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt
  51. ShUM Sites of Speyer, Worms and Mainz
  52. The Great Spa Towns of Europe
  53. Jewish-Medieval Heritage of Erfurt

> View other UNESCO World Heritage Sites

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Sites comprise 1,199 properties.

World heritage property is a legacy from the past, that people live with today, and pass on to future generations.

World Heritage symbol. It is used to identify properties protected by the World Heritage Convention

The cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of knowledge and inspiration.

Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela, Ethiopia. UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela
Speyer Cathedral, Germany
Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Sukur Cultural Landscape, Adamawa, Nigeria

UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world that are considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty known as the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

A World Heritage Site is an area or landmark designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other forms of significance. The sites have legal protection by an international convention.

A World Heritage Site is nominated by their host country and determined by the international committee to be a unique landmark which is geographically and historically identifiable and having a special cultural or physical significance. World Heritage Sites are usually ones with ancient features, historical structures, buildings, cities, deserts, forests, islands, lakes, monuments or mountains.

The site may signify a remarkable accomplishment of people and serve as evidence of intellectual history or a place of unparralled natural beauty.

The sites are intended for practical conservation for posterity, which otherwise would be subject to risk from human or animal trespassing, unmonitored, uncontrolled or unrestricted access, or threat from local administrative negligence. Sites are demarcated by UNESCO as protected zones.

The programme catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance.

The work began with the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage. The convention was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on 16 November 1972. Since then, 195 states have ratified the convention, making it one of the most widely recognised international agreements and a popular cultural programme.