World Heritage Sites in UK and Northern Ireland

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in UK (United Kingdom) of Great Britain and Northern Ireland are:

  1. Castles and Town Walls of King Edward in Gwynedd
  2. Durham Castle and Cathedral
  3. Giant’s Causeway and Causeway Coast
  4. Ironbridge Gorge
  5. St Kilda
  6. Stonehenge, Avebury and Associated Sites
  7. Studley Royal Park including the Ruins of Fountains Abbey
  8. Blenheim Palace
  9. City of Bath
  10. Frontiers of the Roman Empire
  11. Palace of Westminster and Westminster Abbey including Saint Margaret’s Church
  12. Canterbury Cathedral, St Augustine’s Abbey, and St Martin’s Church
  13. Henderson Island
  14. Tower of London
  15. Gough and Inaccessible Islands
  16. Old and New Towns of Edinburgh
  17. Maritime Greenwich
  18. Heart of Neolithic Orkney
  19. Blaenavon Industrial Landscape
  20. Historic Town of St George and Related Fortifications, Bermuda
  21. Derwent Valley Mills
  22. Dorset and East Devon Coast
  23. New Lanark
  24. Saltaire
  25. Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
  26. Liverpool – Maritime Mercantile City Delisted 2021
  27. Cornwall and West Devon Mining Landscape
  28. Pontcysyllte Aqueduct and Canal
  29. The Forth Bridge
  30. Gorham’s Cave Complex
  31. The English Lake District
  32. Jodrell Bank Observatory
  33. The Great Spa Towns of Europe
  34. The Slate Landscape of Northwest Wales

> View other UNESCO World Heritage Sites

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Sites comprise 1,199 properties.

World heritage property is a legacy from the past, that people live with today, and pass on to future generations.

World Heritage symbol. It is used to identify properties protected by the World Heritage Convention

The cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of knowledge and inspiration.

Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela, Ethiopia. UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela
Speyer Cathedral, Germany
Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Sukur Cultural Landscape, Adamawa, Nigeria

UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world that are considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty known as the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

A World Heritage Site is an area or landmark designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other forms of significance. The sites have legal protection by an international convention.

A World Heritage Site is nominated by their host country and determined by the international committee to be a unique landmark which is geographically and historically identifiable and having a special cultural or physical significance. World Heritage Sites are usually ones with ancient features, historical structures, buildings, cities, deserts, forests, islands, lakes, monuments or mountains.

The site may signify a remarkable accomplishment of people and serve as evidence of intellectual history or a place of unparralled natural beauty.

The sites are intended for practical conservation for posterity, which otherwise would be subject to risk from human or animal trespassing, unmonitored, uncontrolled or unrestricted access, or threat from local administrative negligence. Sites are demarcated by UNESCO as protected zones.

The programme catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance.

The work began with the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage. The convention was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on 16 November 1972. Since then, 195 states have ratified the convention, making it one of the most widely recognised international agreements and a popular cultural programme.