World Heritage Sites in Portugal

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Portugal are:

  1. Central Zone of the Town of Angra do Heroismo in the Azores
  2. Convent of Christ in Tomar
  3. Monastery of Batalha
  4. Monastery of the Hieronymites and Tower of Belém in Lisbon
  5. Historic Centre of Évora
  6. Monastery of Alcobaça
  7. Cultural Landscape of Sintra
  8. Historic Centre of Oporto, Luiz I Bridge and Monastery of Serra do Pilar
  9. Prehistoric Rock Art Sites in the Côa Valley and Siega Verde
  10. Laurisilva of Madeira
  11. Alto Douro Wine Region
  12. Historic Centre of Guimarães and Couros Zone
  13. Landscape of the Pico Island Vineyard Culture
  14. Garrison Border Town of Elvas and its Fortifications
  15. University of Coimbra – Alta and Sofia
  16. Royal Building of Mafra – Palace, Basilica, Convent, Cerco Garden and Hunting Park (Tapada)
  17. Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Monte in Braga

> View other UNESCO World Heritage Sites

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Sites comprise 1,199 properties.

World heritage property is a legacy from the past, that people live with today, and pass on to future generations.

World Heritage symbol. It is used to identify properties protected by the World Heritage Convention

The cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of knowledge and inspiration.

Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela, Ethiopia. UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela
Speyer Cathedral, Germany
Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Sukur Cultural Landscape, Adamawa, Nigeria

UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world that are considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty known as the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

A World Heritage Site is an area or landmark designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other forms of significance. The sites have legal protection by an international convention.

A World Heritage Site is nominated by their host country and determined by the international committee to be a unique landmark which is geographically and historically identifiable and having a special cultural or physical significance. World Heritage Sites are usually ones with ancient features, historical structures, buildings, cities, deserts, forests, islands, lakes, monuments or mountains.

The site may signify a remarkable accomplishment of people and serve as evidence of intellectual history or a place of unparralled natural beauty.

The sites are intended for practical conservation for posterity, which otherwise would be subject to risk from human or animal trespassing, unmonitored, uncontrolled or unrestricted access, or threat from local administrative negligence. Sites are demarcated by UNESCO as protected zones.

The programme catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance.

The work began with the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage. The convention was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on 16 November 1972. Since then, 195 states have ratified the convention, making it one of the most widely recognised international agreements and a popular cultural programme.