World Heritage Sites in Spain

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Spain are:

  1. Alhambra, Generalife and Albayzín, Granada
  2. Burgos Cathedral
  3. Historic Centre of Cordoba
  4. Monastery and Site of the Escurial, Madrid
  5. Works of Antoni Gaudí
  6. Cave of Altamira and Paleolithic Cave Art of Northern Spain
  7. Monuments of Oviedo and the Kingdom of the Asturias
  8. Old Town of Ávila with its Extra-Muros Churches
  9. Old Town of Segovia and its Aqueduct
  10. Santiago de Compostela (Old Town)
  11. Garajonay National Park
  12. Historic City of Toledo
  13. Mudejar Architecture of Aragon
  14. Old Town of Cáceres
  15. Cathedral, Alcázar and Archivo de Indias in Seville
  16. Old City of Salamanca
  17. Poblet Monastery
  18. Archaeological Ensemble of Mérida
  19. Routes of Santiago de Compostela: Camino Francés and Routes of Northern Spain
  20. Royal Monastery of Santa María de Guadalupe
  21. Doñana National Park
  22. Historic Walled Town of Cuenca
  23. La Lonja de la Seda de Valencia
  24. Las Médulas
  25. Palau de la Música Catalana and Hospital de Sant Pau, Barcelona
  26. Pyrénées – Mont Perdu
  27. San Millán Yuso and Suso Monasteries
  28. Prehistoric Rock Art Sites in the Côa Valley and Siega Verde 28
  29. Rock Art of the Mediterranean Basin on the Iberian Peninsula
  30. University and Historic Precinct of Alcalá de Henares
  31. Ibiza, Biodiversity and Culture
  32. San Cristóbal de La Laguna
  33. Archaeological Ensemble of Tarraco
  34. Archaeological Site of Atapuerca
  35. Catalan Romanesque Churches of the Vall de Boí
  36. Palmeral of Elche
  37. Roman Walls of Lugo
  38. Aranjuez Cultural Landscape
  39. Renaissance Monumental Ensembles of Úbeda and Baeza
  40. Vizcaya Bridge
  41. Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe
  42. Teide National Park
  43. Tower of Hercules
  44. Cultural Landscape of the Serra de Tramuntana
  45. Heritage of Mercury. Almadén and Idrija
  46. Antequera Dolmens Site
  47. Caliphate City of Medina Azahara
  48. Risco Caido and the Sacred Mountains of Gran Canaria Cultural Landscape
  49. Paseo del Prado and Buen Retiro, a landscape of Arts and Sciences
  50. Prehistoric Sites of Talayotic Menorca

> View other UNESCO World Heritage Sites

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Sites comprise 1,199 properties.

World heritage property is a legacy from the past, that people live with today, and pass on to future generations.

World Heritage symbol. It is used to identify properties protected by the World Heritage Convention

The cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of knowledge and inspiration.

Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela, Ethiopia. UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela
Speyer Cathedral, Germany
Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Sukur Cultural Landscape, Adamawa, Nigeria

UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world that are considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty known as the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

A World Heritage Site is an area or landmark designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other forms of significance. The sites have legal protection by an international convention.

A World Heritage Site is nominated by their host country and determined by the international committee to be a unique landmark which is geographically and historically identifiable and having a special cultural or physical significance. World Heritage Sites are usually ones with ancient features, historical structures, buildings, cities, deserts, forests, islands, lakes, monuments or mountains.

The site may signify a remarkable accomplishment of people and serve as evidence of intellectual history or a place of unparralled natural beauty.

The sites are intended for practical conservation for posterity, which otherwise would be subject to risk from human or animal trespassing, unmonitored, uncontrolled or unrestricted access, or threat from local administrative negligence. Sites are demarcated by UNESCO as protected zones.

The programme catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance.

The work began with the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage. The convention was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on 16 November 1972. Since then, 195 states have ratified the convention, making it one of the most widely recognised international agreements and a popular cultural programme.