World Heritage Sites in Japan

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Japan are:

  1. Buddhist Monuments in the Horyu-ji Area
  2. Himeji-jo
  3. Shirakami-Sanchi
  4. Yakushima
  5. Historic Monuments of Ancient Kyoto (Kyoto, Uji and Otsu Cities)
  6. Historic Villages of Shirakawa-go and Gokayama
  7. Hiroshima Peace Memorial (Genbaku Dome)
  8. Itsukushima Shinto Shrine
  9. Historic Monuments of Ancient Nara
  10. Shrines and Temples of Nikko
  11. Gusuku Sites and Related Properties of the Kingdom of Ryukyu
  12. Sacred Sites and Pilgrimage Routes in the Kii Mountain Range
  13. Shiretoko
  14. Iwami Ginzan Silver Mine and its Cultural Landscape
  15. Hiraizumi – Temples, Gardens and Archaeological Sites Representing the Buddhist Pure Land
  16. Ogasawara Islands
  17. Fujisan, sacred place and source of artistic inspiration
  18. Tomioka Silk Mill and Related Sites
  19. Sites of Japan’s Meiji Industrial Revolution: Iron and Steel, Shipbuilding and Coal Mining
  20. The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier, an Outstanding Contribution to the Modern Movement
  21. Sacred Island of Okinoshima and Associated Sites in the Munakata Region
  22. Hidden Christian Sites in the Nagasaki Region
  23. Mozu-Furuichi Kofun Group: Mounded Tombs of Ancient Japan
  24. Amami-Oshima Island, Tokunoshima Island, Northern part of Okinawa Island, and Iriomote Island
  25. Jomon Prehistoric Sites in Northern Japan

> View other UNESCO World Heritage Sites

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Sites comprise 1,199 properties.

World heritage property is a legacy from the past, that people live with today, and pass on to future generations.

World Heritage symbol. It is used to identify properties protected by the World Heritage Convention

The cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of knowledge and inspiration.

Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela, Ethiopia. UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela
Speyer Cathedral, Germany
Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Sukur Cultural Landscape, Adamawa, Nigeria

UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world that are considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty known as the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

A World Heritage Site is an area or landmark designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other forms of significance. The sites have legal protection by an international convention.

A World Heritage Site is nominated by their host country and determined by the international committee to be a unique landmark which is geographically and historically identifiable and having a special cultural or physical significance. World Heritage Sites are usually ones with ancient features, historical structures, buildings, cities, deserts, forests, islands, lakes, monuments or mountains.

The site may signify a remarkable accomplishment of people and serve as evidence of intellectual history or a place of unparralled natural beauty.

The sites are intended for practical conservation for posterity, which otherwise would be subject to risk from human or animal trespassing, unmonitored, uncontrolled or unrestricted access, or threat from local administrative negligence. Sites are demarcated by UNESCO as protected zones.

The programme catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance.

The work began with the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage. The convention was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on 16 November 1972. Since then, 195 states have ratified the convention, making it one of the most widely recognised international agreements and a popular cultural programme.