World Heritage Sites in Russian

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Russian Federation are:

  1. Historic Centre of Saint Petersburg and Related Groups of Monuments
  2. Kizhi Pogost
  3. Kremlin and Red Square, Moscow
  4. Cultural and Historic Ensemble of the Solovetsky Islands
  5. Historic Monuments of Novgorod and Surroundings
  6. White Monuments of Vladimir and Suzdal
  7. Architectural Ensemble of the Trinity Sergius Lavra in Sergiev Posad
  8. Church of the Ascension, Kolomenskoye
  9. Virgin Komi Forests
  10. Lake Baikal
  11. Volcanoes of Kamchatka
  12. Golden Mountains of Altai
  13. Western Caucasus
  14. Curonian Spit
  15. Ensemble of the Ferapontov Monastery
  16. Historic and Architectural Complex of the Kazan Kremlin
  17. Central Sikhote-Alin
  18. Citadel, Ancient City and Fortress Buildings of Derbent
  19. Uvs Nuur Basin
  20. Ensemble of the Novodevichy Convent
  21. Natural System of Wrangel Island Reserve
  22. Historical Centre of the City of Yaroslavl
  23. Struve Geodetic Arc
  24. Putorana Plateau
  25. Lena Pillars Nature Park
  26. Bolgar Historical and Archaeological Complex
  27. Assumption Cathedral and Monastery of the town-island of Sviyazhsk
  28. Landscapes of Dauria
  29. Churches of the Pskov School of Architecture
  30. Petroglyphs of Lake Onega and the White Sea
  31. Astronomical Observatories of Kazan Federal University

> View other UNESCO World Heritage Sites

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Sites comprise 1,199 properties.

World heritage property is a legacy from the past, that people live with today, and pass on to future generations.

World Heritage symbol. It is used to identify properties protected by the World Heritage Convention

The cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of knowledge and inspiration.

Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela, Ethiopia. UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela
Speyer Cathedral, Germany
Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Sukur Cultural Landscape, Adamawa, Nigeria

UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world that are considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty known as the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

A World Heritage Site is an area or landmark designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other forms of significance. The sites have legal protection by an international convention.

A World Heritage Site is nominated by their host country and determined by the international committee to be a unique landmark which is geographically and historically identifiable and having a special cultural or physical significance. World Heritage Sites are usually ones with ancient features, historical structures, buildings, cities, deserts, forests, islands, lakes, monuments or mountains.

The site may signify a remarkable accomplishment of people and serve as evidence of intellectual history or a place of unparralled natural beauty.

The sites are intended for practical conservation for posterity, which otherwise would be subject to risk from human or animal trespassing, unmonitored, uncontrolled or unrestricted access, or threat from local administrative negligence. Sites are demarcated by UNESCO as protected zones.

The programme catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance.

The work began with the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage. The convention was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on 16 November 1972. Since then, 195 states have ratified the convention, making it one of the most widely recognised international agreements and a popular cultural programme.