World Heritage Sites in Iran

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Iran are:

  1. Meidan Emam, Esfahan
  2. Persepolis
  3. Tchogha Zanbil
  4. Takht-e Soleyman
  5. Bam and its Cultural Landscape
  6. Pasargadae
  7. Soltaniyeh
  8. Bisotun
  9. Armenian Monastic Ensembles of Iran
  10. Shushtar Historical Hydraulic System
  11. Sheikh Safi al-din Khānegāh and Shrine Ensemble in Ardabil
  12. Tabriz Historic Bazaar Complex
  13. The Persian Garden
  14. Gonbad-e Qābus
  15. Masjed-e Jāmé of Isfahan
  16. Golestan Palace
  17. Shahr-i Sokhta
  18. Cultural Landscape of Maymand
  19. Susa
  20. Lut Desert
  21. The Persian Qanat
  22. Historic City of Yazd
  23. Sassanid Archaeological Landscape of Fars Region
  24. Hyrcanian Forests
  25. Cultural Landscape of Hawraman/Uramanat
  26. Trans-Iranian Railway
  27. The Persian Caravanserai

> View other UNESCO World Heritage Sites

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Sites comprise 1,199 properties.

World heritage property is a legacy from the past, that people live with today, and pass on to future generations.

World Heritage symbol. It is used to identify properties protected by the World Heritage Convention

The cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of knowledge and inspiration.

Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela, Ethiopia. UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Rock-Hewn Churches, Lalibela
Speyer Cathedral, Germany
Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Sukur Cultural Landscape, Adamawa, Nigeria

UNESCO seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world that are considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty known as the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

A World Heritage Site is an area or landmark designated by UNESCO for having cultural, historical, scientific or other forms of significance. The sites have legal protection by an international convention.

A World Heritage Site is nominated by their host country and determined by the international committee to be a unique landmark which is geographically and historically identifiable and having a special cultural or physical significance. World Heritage Sites are usually ones with ancient features, historical structures, buildings, cities, deserts, forests, islands, lakes, monuments or mountains.

The site may signify a remarkable accomplishment of people and serve as evidence of intellectual history or a place of unparralled natural beauty.

The sites are intended for practical conservation for posterity, which otherwise would be subject to risk from human or animal trespassing, unmonitored, uncontrolled or unrestricted access, or threat from local administrative negligence. Sites are demarcated by UNESCO as protected zones.

The programme catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance.

The work began with the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage. The convention was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on 16 November 1972. Since then, 195 states have ratified the convention, making it one of the most widely recognised international agreements and a popular cultural programme.