10 most populated weredas in Tigray, Ethiopia

The most populated weredas in Tigray, Ethiopia are:

  • Semen
  • Ahiferom
  • Debub
  • Hintalo Wajirat
  • Were Lehe
  • Saesi Tsadamba
  • Raya Azebo
  • Tselemti
  • Asegede Tsimbila
  • Medebay Zana
  • Kola Temben

Population Size of Weredas in Tigray Region, Ethiopia. From largest to smallest

Hintalo Wajirat188,062
Were Lehe184,536
Saesi Tsadamba179,213
Raya Azebo172,389
Asegede Tsimbila165,623
Medebay Zana153,978
Kola Temben153,290
Seharti Samre151,799
Atsbi Wonberta140,204
Laelay Adiyabo138,514
Kafta Humera138,053
Dega Temben137,448
Mereb Lehe130,863
Tahtay Maychew125,193
Nader Adet121,778
Kilte Awlalo118,963
Tanqua Abergele113,925
Tahtay Adiyabo109,689
Gulo Meheda107,001
Ganta Afeshum105,098
Shere Endasilasie104,949
Laelay Maychew82,872
Tahtay Koraro78,721
Abi Adi17,667

Population figures based on year 2023 projections by the federal government census agency, Ethiopian Statistical Service.

Reference: statsethiopia.gov.et/population-projection/

The Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia is an African country.

It shares borders with Eritrea to the north, Djibouti to the northeast, Somalia to the east and southeast, Kenya to the south, South Sudan to the west, and Sudan to the northwest.

Addis Ababa is the capital and largest city.

Languages: Amharic, Oromo, Somali, Tigrigna, Afar …
Currency: Ethiopian Birr
Dialing code: +251

As of 2023 the country’s population was 107,334,000, making it the 13 most populated country in the world and 2 most populated in Africa after Nigeria.

It covers a land area of 1,112,000 square kilometres (472,000 sq. miles).

Ethiopia is multi-ethnic with over 80 different ethnic groups. Oromo and Amhara are the country’s two largest ethnic groups.

Christianity is the most widely professed faith in the country. The country has some adherents of Islam and other faiths.

Ethiopia is administratively divided into four levels: regions, zones, woredas (districts) and kebele (wards).

The first level administrative division in Ethiopia is a region, also called kilil, or alternatively regional state.

The 1995 Constitution of Ethiopia established the regions based on ethno-linguistic territories.

The country comprises 11 regions and two city administrations under these regions, many zones, woredas and neighbourhood administration: kebeles.

Previously, this level was called a province, and though many of the old province and new region names are the same, the entities are not identical and the words region and province are not interchangeable. As of 2022 there were eleven regions.

The regions and their capitals in Ethiopia are as follows:

  • Addis Ababa (City) …. Addis Ababa
  • Afar Region … Semera
  • Amhara Region … Bahir Dar
  • Benishangul-Gumuz Region … Asosa
  • Dire Dawa (City) … Dire Dawa
  • Gambela Region … Gambela
  • Harari Region … Harar
  • Oromia Region … Addis Ababa
  • Sidama Region … Hawassa
  • Somali Region … Jijiga
  • South West Ethiopia Peoples’ Region … Bonga
  • Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples’ Region … Hawassa
  • Tigray Region … Mek’ele

Regions are subdivided into zones. The number of zones varies, but most regions have around six to twelve zones.

The largest region Oromia has over 20 zones, and the two smallest regions have none.

There are some cities which are set up as “special zones”, such as Bahir Dar Special Zone in the Amhara Region.

The earlier equivalent to a zone was called an awrajja, and many zones today are named the same as their earlier awrajja, but the terms zone and awrajja are not interchangeable.

Zones are divided into woredas (districts). In Ethiopia, the woredas comprise three main organs: a council, an executive and a judicial.

The Woreda Council is the highest government organ of the district, which is made up of directly elected representatives from each kebele in the woredas.

The representative of the people in each kebele is accountable to their electorate.

Woredas are divided into kebele, municipalities. Each kebele comprises around 20 smaller villages.

Kebele is the smallest administrative division. This is sometimes also called tabia or tabiya. They are at the neighbourhood level and are the primary contact for most citizens living in Ethiopia. Their administrative unit consists of an elected council, a cabinet (executive committee), a social court and the development and security staff. Kebeles are accountable to their woreda councils and are typically responsible for providing basic education, primary health care, agriculture, water, and rural roads.