Ekiti State Executive Council: Governor, commissioners and others, 2023

Ekiti State Executive Council under Governor Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji, commissioners and others, 2023

Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji


Chief Monisade Christianah Afuye

Deputy Governor

Dr Habibat Omolara Adubiaro

Secretary to State Government

Sunday Komolafe

Head Of Service

Dayo Apata, SAN

Attorney General & Commissioner for Justice

Akin Oyebode

Commissioner for Finance and Economic Development

Dr. Oyebanji Filani

Commissioner for Health and Human Services

Seun Fakuade

Commissioner for Innovation, Science and Digital Economy

Yinka Oyebode

SA Media & Strategy/Chief Press Secretary

Niyi Adebayo

Commissioner for Budget, Economic Planning and Performance Management

Tayo Adeola

Commissioner for Industry, Trade and Investment

Ebenezer Boluwade

Commissioner for Agriculture and Food Security

Oladapo Karounwi

Commissioner for Physical Planning & Urban Development

Dr Kofoworola Aderiye

Commissioner for Education

Chief Jide Awe

SA, Political and Inter Party Affairs

O’seun Odewale

DG/SA Bureau of Public Procurement

Arch. Tope Ogunleye

SA, Bureau of Special Project

Rt. Hon. Taiwo Olatunbosun

Commissioner for Information

Mr. Adesola Adebayo

Commissioner for Works

Ajobiewe Kolawole

Commissioner for Transportation

Chief Folorunso Olabode

Commissioner for Local Government Affairs

Adesola Adedayo

Commissioner for Youth Development

Chief (Mrs) Tosin Aluko

Commissioner for Environment and Natural Resources

Peju Babafemi

Commissioner for Women Affairs and Social Development

Prof Mobolaji Aluko

Commissioner, Infrastructure and Public Utilities

Prof. Patrick Tedela

Commissioner for Capacity Development and Training

Kayode Fasae

Commissioner for Wealth Creation and Employment

Awe Oluwafemi

Commissioner for Rural and Community Development

Otunba Dolamu Adeniyi

Commissioner for Special Duties

Prof. Ojo Bakare

Commissioner for Arts, Culture and Creative Economy

Dr. Kazeem Akande

Commissioner for Regional Development and Inter-Government Affairs

Olaiya Atibioke

Commissioner for Chieftaincy and Home Affairs

Hon. Tade Aluko

Special Adviser, State Capital Development Authority

Gboyega Oloniyo

Special Adviser, Housing and Mortgage Development

Hon. Gbenga Agbeyo

Special Adviser, Human Capital Development and Allied Matters

Chief (Mrs) Kemi Olaleye

Special Adviser, Gender Empowerment and Mobilization

Hon. Abiola Olowokeere

Special Adviser, Legislative Affairs

Hon. Femi Ajayi

Special Adviser, Independent Project Monitoring

Oluremi Ajayi

Special Adviser, Rural Mobilization

Hon (Mrs) Yemisi Ayokunle

Special Adviser, Social Investment Programs

Adetoun Agboola

Special Adviser, Special Education and Social Inclusion

Dr. John Ekundayo

Special Adviser, Transformation and Service Delivery

Adeola Ayeni

Special Adviser, Governance

Niyi Idowu

Special Adviser, Legal Matters

Olatunji Akinleye

Special Adviser, Business Development

Dr. Akeem Azeez

Special Adviser, Tertiary Education

Reference: ekitistate.gov.ng/executive-council/

Ekiti is a state in southwestern Nigeria.

Named after the Ekiti people, the Yoruba subgroup that make up the majority of the state’s population, Ekiti State was formed from a part of Ondo State in 1996 and has its capital as the city of Ado-Ekiti.

Iworoko mountain
Fajuyi Memorial Park
Ekiti state University Teaching Hospital, Ado-ekiti
Ekiti people

Ekiti State is a state in southwestern Nigeria, bordered to the north by Kwara State, to the northeast by Kogi State, to the south and southeast by Ondo State, and to the west by Osun State.

It was created in 1996 from the territory of the former Ondo State. The state is known for its rich cultural heritage, natural beauty and agricultural potential.

Ekiti is also home to some of some prestigious educational institutions in the country, such as the Ekiti State University, the Federal University of Oye-Ekiti and the Afe Babalola University.

One of the most popular destinations in Ekiti is the Ikogosi Warm Springs Resort, located in Ikogosi town. This resort is famous for its natural phenomenon of warm and cold springs flowing side by side from the same source. The warm spring has a temperature of about 70°C, while the cold spring has a temperature of about 37°C. The resort offers various facilities and activities for visitors, such as swimming pools, chalets, restaurants, conference halls, hiking trails and a museum.

Olosunta Hills

Ekiti State has 16 Local Government Areas, namely:

  1. Ado-Ekiti
  2. Ikere
  3. Oye
  4. Aiyekire (Gbonyin)
  5. Efon
  6. Ekiti East
  7. Ekiti South-West
  8. Ekiti West
  9. Emure
  10. Ido-Osi
  11. Ijero
  12. Ikole
  13. Ilejemeje
  14. Irepodun/Ifelodun
  15. Ise/Orun
  16. Moba
St. Paul Anglican church, Erijiyan
Aramoko-Ekiti Roundabout, Aramoko-Ekiti
Araromi Baptist Church, Igede-Ekiti
Ekiti Baptist High School, Igede Ekiti
Ekiti state internal revenue house, Ado-ekiti

Another attraction in Ekiti is the Arinta Waterfalls, situated in Ipole-Iloro town. This waterfall is one of the highest and most spectacular in Nigeria, with a height of about 120 meters. The waterfall is surrounded by lush vegetation and rocky cliffs, creating a scenic and serene environment. You can enjoy the view of the waterfall from a distance or get closer to feel its refreshing spray.

The Ekiti Cultural Centre in Ado-Ekiti, is a hub for cultural activities and events, such as exhibitions, festivals, workshops and performances. The centre also houses a museum that showcases various artifacts and relics from the past, such as pottery, beads, masks, costumes and musical instruments.

Ekiti is a state that celebrates its traditions and values. Some of the most notable festivals in Ekiti are the Udiroko Festival, the Ogun Festival and the Olosunta Festival. These festivals are held annually to mark different occasions and honor different deities. They feature colorful displays of costumes, dances, music and rituals that reflect the identity and diversity of Ekiti people.