Ogun State Governor, Commissioners and other cabinet members, 2012

Members of Ogun State executive cabinet including Governor, Deputy Governor, SSG, HoS, Commissioners & others as of 2012

1Senator Ibikunle Amosun FCA


2Prince Segun Adesegun

Deputy Governor

3Barrister Taiwo Adeoluwa

Secretary to the State Government

4Mrs. Modupe Adekunle

Head of Service

5Ambassador Demola Ogunnaike

Chief of Staff

6Mr. Shuaib Afolabi Salisu

Deputy Chief of Staff

7Mr. Wemimo Ogunde SAN

Attorney General & Hon. State Commissioner, Justice

8Mr. Yusuph Olaniyonu

Hon. State Commissioner, Information & Strategy

9Mr. Daniel Adejobi

Hon. State Commissioner, Housing

10Mr. Adebayo Faari

Hon. State Commissioner, Environment

11Dr. Lanre Tejuoso

Hon. State Commissioner, Special Duties

12Hon. Falilu Sabitu

Hon. State Commissioner, Forestry

13Mr. Bimbo Ashiru

Hon. State Commissioner, Commerce & Industries

14Mrs. Oluwande Muoyo

Hon. State Commissioner, Budget & Planning

15Mrs. Elizabeth Sonubi

Hon. State Commissioner, Women Affairs & Social Welfare

16Rt. Hon. Muyiwa Oladipo

Hon. State Commissioner, Local Govt. & Chieftaincy Affairs

17Arc. Lekan Adegbite

Hon. State Commissioner, Works and Infrastructure

18Chief Olu Odeyemi

Hon. State Commissioner, Culture & Tourism

19Barr. Segun Odubela

Hon. State Commissioner, Education

20Mr. Gbenga Otenuga

Hon. State Commissioner, Youth & Sports

21Hon. Ayo Olubori

Hon. State Commissioner, Agriculture

22Chief Samuel Aiyedogbon

Hon. State Commissioner, Community Development & Cooperatives

23Mrs. Kemi Adeosun

Hon. State Commissioner, Finance

24Dr. Olaokun Soyinka

Hon. State Commissioner, Health

25Mr. Rotimi Adewunmi

Economic Adviser

26Arc. Segun Abiodun

Special Adviser, Housing

27Mrs. Yewande Amusan

Special Adviser, Public Private Partnership (PPP)

28Mrs. Hafsat Abiola-Costello

Special Adviser, Millennium Development Goals

29Mr. Wale Ogunyomade

Special Adviser, Taxation and Revenue

30Mr. Leke Adewolu

Special Adviser, Research & Documentation

31Mrs. Funmi Ajayi

Special Adviser, Governor’s Office

32Mrs. Ronke Sokefun

Special Adviser, Lands

33Mrs. Funmi Wakama

Senior Special Assistant, Media & Communications

Ogun is a major industrial state in Nigeria. It is located in the country’s south western zone.

Nicknamed the “Gateway to Nigeria”, the state is notable for having a high concentration of industrial estates and being a major manufacturing hub in Nigeria.

Major factories in Ogun include the Dangote Cement factory in Ibese, Nestle, Lafarge Cement factory in Ewekoro, Memmcol in Orimerunmu, Coleman Cables in Sagamu and Arepo, Procter & Gamble in Agbara, amongst others.

It was created on 3 February 1976 from the former Western State.

Ogun State borders Lagos State to the south, Oyo State and Osun State to the north, Ondo State to the east, and the Republic of Benin to the west.

Abeokuta is both Ogun State’s capital and most populous city

Important cities
Important cities in the state include Abeokuta , Ijebu Ode, the royal capital of the Ijebu Kingdom, and Sagamu, Nigeria’s leading kola nut grower.

Ogun state is covered predominantly by rain forest and has wooden savanna in the northwest.

Land area
Ogun State has a Land Area of 16,409.26 square kilometers.

Major tribe
Ogun State is mostly Yoruba with the Yoruba language serving as the major one in the state.

The main religion in Ogun State is Christianity. A certain amount of other religions are being practiced.

Ogun State is noted for being the almost exclusive site of Ofada rice production.

Olumo Rock in Abeokuta, Birikisu Sugbo Shrine at Oke-Eri, Yemoji Natural Swimming Pool at Ijebu-Ode, Oyan Dam in Abeokuta North, Iwopin Boat Regatta and Ebute-Oni in Ogun Waterside.

Other Sites are Madam Tinubu Shrine in Abeokuta, Oronna Shrine in Ilaro, Area J4 Forest Reserve; Tongeji Island in Ipokia, Old Manse at Ogbe, Abeokuta, St. James Anglican School, Ota and Ijamido River Shrine in Ota.
Check out our Tourism Gallery


  1. Abeokuta -North
  2. Abeokuta South
  3. Ado-Odo/Ota
  4. Ewekoro
  5. Ifo
  6. Ijebu East
  7. Ijebu North
  8. Ijebu North-East
  9. Ijebu-Ode
  10. Ikenne
  11. Imeko-Afon
  12. Ipokia
  13. Obafemi/ Owode
  14. Odeda
  15. Odogbolu
  16. Ogun Waterside
  17. Remo North
  18. Sagamu
  19. Yewa North
  20. Yewa South

The People of Ogun State belong to the Yoruba Ethnic Group of South-West Nigeria and also live in parts of Benin Republic and Togo, with substantial Diaspora elements in Brazil, Cuba and Sierra Leone, consequential to the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade.

The Sub-groups are mainly the Egba, Yewa, Awori, Egun, Ijebu, Remo, Ikale and Ilaje, Anago, Ketu, Ohori etc.

Ogun is also home to many icons in Nigeria in particular and Africa in general.

Ogun sons and daughters make their mark in diverse professions and have contributed in no small measure to the development of the state and Nigeria both at home and abroad.

Ogun State has produced icons and pioneers such as:

• Alexander Akintola Sapara-Williams
The first Nigerian Lawyer

• Hon. Justice Olumuyiwa Jibowu
The first Nigerian Judge to sit on the Supreme Court Bench

• Sir Adetokunbo Ademola
The first Indigenous Chief Justice of Nigeria

• Chief Simeon Adebo
Pioneer Permanent Secretary, Head of Civil Service and Permanent Representative of Nigeria at the United Nations

• Chief Obafemi Awolowo
The first Nigerian Lawyer to head a Regional Government

• Professor Wole Soyinka
Black Africa’s first Nobel Laureate

• Adeoye Lambo
One-time Deputy Director General of the World Health Organisation

• Prof. Anthony Asiwaju
Renowned Historian

• Chief J. F. Odunjo
Foremost Author

• Oluṣẹgun Arẹmu Ọbasanjọ
A former Nigerian Army general and former President of Nigeria

Yoruba and English (Official Language) and several dialects of the sub-groups.

Agemo, Lisabi, Ogun, Igunnuko, Orisa-Oko, Egungun, Obirin-Ojowu, Gelede, Oro, Ojude-Oba and Sango.

The population of Ogun State based on 2006 Census was 3,751,140 comprising of 1,864,907 Males and 1,886,233 Females.

However, the projected population as at 2011 Census is 4,397,604 with 2,186,301 Males and 2,211,303 Females

The State is endowed with a favourable climate and good vegetation for all year round cultivation of various cash and food crops as well as livestock rearing.

The climate is also conducive for business and industrial growth. In Ogun State, we have in the south, the evergreen forest vegetation and soil most suitable for the cultivation of cash and food crops like oil palm, rice, kola- nut, cocoa, cotton, cassava, cocoyam and vegetables. While in the north, we have a vast grazing savannah land that is suitable for animal husbandry. In addition to this, there are forest reserves, rivers and lagoons with a beautiful ocean front down south that is good for beach resorts.

The State has natural resources that include forest and water bodies as well as large quantities of mineral deposits, such as limestone, phosphate, granite stone, gypsum, bauxite, bitumen, feldspar, clay, glass sand, kaolin, quartz, tar sand and gemstones.