Lagos executive cabinet members during Babatunde Fashola administration as of 2009

Lagos State executive cabinet: Commissioners, SSG, HoS & others during Babatunde Fashola administration as of 2009

1Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola (SAN)Executive Governor
2Mrs. Sarah Bisi SosanDeputy Governor
3Princess Adenrele Adeniran-OgunsanyaSecretary to the State Government
4Mr. Yakub Abiodun BalogunHead of Service
5Mr. Lanre BabalolaChief of Staff
6Hon. Adeniyi OyemadeHonourable CommissionerCommerce & Industry
7Mr. Ben AkabuezeHonourable CommissionerEconomic Planning & Budget
8Dr. Muiz BanireHonourable CommissionerEnvironment
9Mr. Jide SanwooluHonourable CommissionerEstablishment & Training
10Mr. Rotimi OyekanHonourable CommissionerFinance
11Dr. Jide IdrisHonourable CommissionerHealth
12Hon. Tunde BalogunHonourable CommissionerHome Affairs & Culture
13Hon. Dele OnabokunHonourable CommissionerHousing
14Mr. Opeyemi BamideleHonourable CommissionerInformation & Strategy
15Mr. Supo SasoreHonourable CommissionerJustice
16Mr. Rotimi AgunsoyeHonourable CommissionerLocal Government
17Mr. Bolaji AbosedeHonourable CommissionerPhysical Planning & Urban Development
18Prince Lanre BalogunHonourable CommissionerRural Development
19Dr. Kadri Obafemi HamzatHonourable CommissionerScience & Technology
20Dr. Tola KasaliHonourable CommissionerSpecial Duties
21Sen. Tokunbo AfikuyomiHonourable CommissionerTourism and Intergovernmental Relations
22Prof. Bamidele BadejoHonourable CommissionerTransportation
23Prince Adesegun OniruHonourable CommissionerWater Infrastructure
24Mrs. Joke Orelope-AdefulireHonourable CommissionerWomen Affair & Poverty Alleviation
25Prince Demola Adeniji-AdeleHonourable CommissionerYouth, Sports & Social Developmemt
26Chief Enoch Kolapomoye AjibosoHonourable CommissionerAgriculture & Cooperatives
27Hon. Oyin DanmoleSpecial AdviserCentral Business District
28Mrs. Olusola OworuSpecial AdviserCommerce
29Dr. Elijah Olu AdewaleSpecial AdviserEducation
30Mr. Sesan OlanrewajuSpecial AdviserEnvironment
31Mr. Femi AdebanjoSpecial AdviserEstablishment & Training
32Mr. Akinsanya Sunny AjoseSpecial AdviserGovernor’s Office
33Hon. Toyin AmzatSpecial AdviserHealth
34Mr. Jimoh AjaoSpecial AdviserHousing
35Hon. Olalekan IfemadeSpecial AdviserLocal Government
36Hon. Abdul Lateef Abdul HakeemSpecial AdviserPolitical & Legislative Matters
37Hon. Paul KalejaiyeSpecial AdviserRural Development
38Mr. Afolabi Kofo-AbayomiSpecial AdviserSpecial Duties
39Mr. Ade IpayeSpecial AdviserTaxation/Revenue
40Mr. Kayode OpeifaSpecial AdviserTransportation
41Engr. Ganiyu JohnsonSpecial AdviserWorks & Infrastructure
42Dr. Dolapo BadruSpecial AdviserYouth, Sports & Social Developmemt

Lagos is the commercial capital of Nigeria and the most populated city in the country and Africa.


It was the administrative capital of Nigeria until December 1991 following the government’s decision to move the capital to Abuja in the centre of the country.

Victoria Island

Lagos is a major African financial centre and is an economic hub.

The city has been described as the cultural, financial, and entertainment capital of Africa, and is a significant influence on commerce, entertainment, technology, education, politics, tourism, art, and fashion.

Lagos is also among the top ten of the world’s fastest-growing cities and urban areas.

The megacity has the fourth-highest GDP in Africa and houses one of the largest and busiest seaports on the continent.

The Lagos metropolitan area is a major educational and cultural centre in Sub Saharan Africa.

Cathedral Church of Christ Marina, Lagos is an Anglican cathedral on Lagos Island, Lagos, Nigeria.

Lagos emerged as a home to the Awori tribe of the Yoruba of West Africa islands, which are contained in the present day Local Government Areas (LGAs) of Lagos Island, Eti-Osa, Amuwo-Odofin and Apapa.

Due to rapid urbanisation, the city expanded to the west of the lagoon to include areas in the present day Lagos Mainland, Ajeromi-Ifelodun, and Surulere.

This led to the classification of Lagos into two main areas: the Island, which was the original city of Lagos, and the Mainland, which it has since expanded into.

This city area was governed directly by the Federal Government through the Lagos City Council, until the creation of Lagos State in 1967, which led to the splitting of Lagos city into the present-day seven Local Government Areas (LGAs), and an addition of other towns (which now make up 13 LGAs) from the then Western Region to form the state.

Third Mainland Bridge across the Lagos Lagoon

The islands are separated by creeks, fringing the southwest mouth of Lagos Lagoon, while being protected from the Atlantic Ocean by barrier islands and long sand spits such as Bar Beach, which stretch up to 100 km east and west.

However, the state capital was later moved to Ikeja in 1976, and the federal capital moved to Abuja in 1991.


Even though Lagos is still widely referred to as a city, the present-day Lagos, also known as “Lagos Metropolitan Area” is an urban agglomeration or conurbation, consisting of 16 LGAs including Ikeja, the state capital of Lagos State.

Ferry terminal

This conurbation makes up 37% of Lagos State total land area, but houses about 85% of the state’s total population.


The business district of Lagos is home to Tinubu Square, named after the aristocratic slave trader Efunroye Tinubu. Lagos contains Murtala Muhammed International Airport, named after Nigerian president Murtala Muhammad, and is one of the busiest African airports. Lagos National Stadium has hosted various international sports events such as the 1980 African Cup of Nations.