Kano now has 17 universities

Kano State has joined the league of Nigerian States with over 10 universities.

The NUC having given the Sudan-based Elrazi University a license to operate in Kano makes it the 16th University in the state.

With the conversion of FCE Kano to a University from 2nd June 2023, Kano now has 17 universities, equal to the number in Ogun; the highest in Nigeria.

The 17 universities in Kano State are:

  1. Bayero University Kano
  2. Aliko Dangote University
  3. Yusuf Maitama Sule University
  4. Skyline University
  5. Khalifa Ishaq Rabiu University
  6. Saadatu Rimi University of Education
  7. Maryam Abacha American University
  8. Capital City University
  9. Al-Istiqama University
  10. Federal University of Education Technical, Bichi
  11. National Open University
  12. Baba-Ahmed University
  13. Elrazi Medical University
  14. Azman University
  15. Federal University of Education, Kano
  16. Federal University of Agriculture Danbatta
  17. Police Academy, Wudil
Bayero University, Kano
Elrazi Medical University, Kano

Kano State is home to several prominent universities. Some of the famous universiites in Kano and the years there were founded are:

  • Bayero University Kano (BUK), founded in 1977.
  • Kano State University of Technology (KUST), founded in 2001.
  • Skyline University Nigeria (SUN), founded in 2018.
  • Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano (YUSMUK), founded in 2012.
  • Nigeria Police Academy Wudil, founded as the 37th federal university in 2011.

Polytechnics and Colleges

Some of the Polytechnics and Colleges in Kano are:

  • Aminu Kano College of Islamic Legal Studies, Kano
  • Audu Bako School of Agriculture, Dambatta
  • Federal College of Education, Kano
  • Kano State Polytechnic.
  • Sa’adatu Rimi College of Education.

Secondary Schools

Well knon secondary schools include:

  • Dawakin Tofa Science College
  • Rumfa College, Kano
  • Federal Unity College Karaye.