List of 31 Regions of Tanzania

The 31 Regions of Tanzania are:

  1. Arusha
  2. Dar-es-salaam
  3. Dodoma
  4. Geita
  5. Iringa
  6. Kagera
  7. Kaskazini Pemba
  8. Kaskazini Unguja
  9. Katavi
  10. Kigoma
  11. Kilimanjaro
  12. Kusini Pemba
  13. Kusini Unguja
  14. Lindi
  15. Manyara
  16. Mara
  17. Mbeya
  18. Mjini Magharibi
  19. Morogoro
  20. Mtwara
  21. Mwanza
  22. Njombe
  23. Pwani
  24. Rukwa
  25. Ruvuma
  26. Shinyanga
  27. Simiyu
  28. Singida
  29. Songwe
  30. Tabora
  31. Tanga

Tanzania is a country in East African known for its vast wilderness areas that include plains of Serengeti National Park, a safari populated by the elephants, lions, leopards, buffalos, rhinos and Kilimanjaro National Park, home to Africa’s tallest mountain. Offshore lies the tropical islands of Zanzibar and Mafia, with a marine park, home to whale sharks and coral reefs.

Official name: United Republic of Tanzania
Capital: Dodoma
Official languages: Swahili, English
Currency: Tanzanian Shilling
Dialing code: +255
Population: 61,741,120 (2022 Census)
Land area ( 885,803

Tanzania is a union of Tanganyika (Tanzania Mainland) and Zanzibar (Tanzania Zanzibar).

Administratively, Tanzania comprises 31 regions (26 regions in Tanzania Mainland and 5 regions in Tanzania Zanzibar.

Most populated region
In the 2022 Census, Dar es Salaam Region was found to have the largest population of 5.4 million accounting for 8.7 percent of the country’s total population.

Least populated region
The region with the smallest population is Kusini Unguja with a population of 195,873 that is equivalent to 0.3 percent of the country’s total population