Southern Ijaw Local Government Area, Bayelsa State, Nigeria

Southern Ijaw is a Local Government Area of Bayelsa State, Southern part of Nigeria.

Its headquarters is in the town of Oporoma (or Osokoma) in the north.

Southern Ijaw is a Local Government Area is made up of several towns and villages which include Igbomotoro, Peremabiri, Opuama, Eniwari, Angiama, Diebu, Ondewari, and Aziama.

It has an area of 2,682 km2.

The area has a coastline of approximately 60 km on the Bight of Benin.

The people and their language are known as Izon.

The LGA also has a wide practice of religion such as Christianity and traditionalism.

It has institutions like the Niger Delta University(NDU), the state’s airport in Amassoma and Federal Polytechnic, Ekowe.

The first democratically elected governor, Chief Diepreye Alamieyeseigha (DSP) hailed from the area.

It is the home of Kolu United FC of Koluama II.