Mbagen Community Health Services

Mbagen Community Health Services is a healthcare delivery body of Mbagen community in Buruku LGA, Benue State, Nigeria.

Mbagen Community Health Services has several healthcare facilities namely:

  • Mbagen Community Hospital, Abwa
  • Mbagen Community Health Centre, Ashibi
  • Mbagen Community Health Clinic Nôngov
  • Mbagen School of Health Management, Abwa, and
  • College of Health Technology, Abwa.

Services provided by Mbagen Community Health Services are:

  • OPD services
  • In-patient (IPD) services
  • Laboratory services
  • Theatre services
  • X-ray Services
  • Maternal and child health care services
  • Training. It is done under Mbagen College of Health Technology at Abwa.

What is known today as Mbagen Community Health Services was founded on the 6th Feb.1978 as community Dispensary by the Mbagen Development Association.

The first officer appointed to run the dispensary was Mr. Moses Ihomver Hanior. 

The story of the institution is phenomenal as it could be likened to the mustard seed that shoots out small but grows big with its branches spreading out.

Orvesen Gbajur Gyer of Mbaade Ward was the first patient treated at the dispensary.

After a short while, four health workers were appointed to assist the Officer in Charge.

The other pioneer members of staff were Wuna Gbaya Bako, Ayatsô Ukpe, Nguungwan Yua, Godo Afea, and Asen Orajiir. Right from the beginning of the clinic the patient turnout was very encouraging.

In 1986, the dispensary was upgraded to the status of a Health Centre, with more staff including an NYSC Corps member, a medical doctor called Dr. Chinda.

It was in 1986 that the then Governor of Benue state, Group Captain David Jonah Jang visited the health centre and directed the then Gboko Local Government Council to take over the salaries of all the trained staff at the Health Centre numbering 15.

He also directed the Benue State Ministry of Health to donate an ambulance to the Health centre.

All the above executive directives were complied with.

In 1988, the need to expand services at the centre became obvious; it was at this point that the Health Centre was upgraded to a Comprehensive Health centre status.

Other aspects of expansion of the Health services were establishment of Health clinics at Ashibi, Nyamatsor, Nôngov and Ugbema. (The clinic at Ugbema is no longer functional).

Visits were made by some prominent personalities at different times, including: i. Col. Abdullahi Shelleng ii. His Excellency Governor Apollos Aper Aku iii. Tor Tiv II, Gundo Aluor iv. Group Capt. David Jonah Jang Among all the prominent persons.

The Mbagen Community Health Services benefited much from the visit of Group Capt. David Jonah Jang, who directed for the takeover of fifteen (15) trained staff and also donated an ambulance on behalf of Benue State Government. Support from Development Partners.

Since the inception of Mbagen Community Health Services we benefited from the following partners:

  • Benue Health Fund: Assisted us in the area of training of staff on Drug Revolving Fund.
  • APIN: Helped in establishment of HIV/AIDS treatment Renovated Lab. Block, Drugs and Funds.
  • IHVN: Took over from APIN at the same capacity, They assisted in the area of training, supply of equipment, such as, microscopes, CD4 machine.
  • CHIP: Supported with equipment and renovated maternity block.

The Mbagen Community Health Services is headed by HRH. Moses Ihomver Hanior, who is director of Administration, assisted by Hon. D.I. Bua.

There are over 60 health and auxiliary staff in the organisation, including two medical officers.

All these members of staff are on the payroll of Mbagen Development Association.

The Mbagen Community Health Services has a Board of Governors, which formulates policies for the running of the organisation.

The policies are being implemented by the Administrative committee, which is responsible for the day to day running of the health services.

The current membership of the Board is as follows:

  • Dr. Joseph Terhemen Igbudu – Chairman  
  • Mr. David Alôhô – Member
  • Mr. John Agbôngul – Member
  • Mrs Ngôhemba Kahaga-Member
  • Mr Comas Apuu – Member
  • Mr John Akpoo- Member
  • HRH. Moses Hanior – Member / Secretary

The Administrative committee is headed by HRH. Moses Hanior who is Director of Administration, overseeing Mbagen Community Hospital, Abwa, Mbagen Community Health Centre, Ashibi, Mbagen Community Health Clinic Nôngov, Mbagen School of Health Management, Abwa, and College of Health Technology, Abwa.