Dukku Local Government Area

Dukku is a Local Government Area in Gombe State, Nigeria. Its headquarters is Dukku town.

Gombe Abba
GPS Coordinates10°49′N 10°46′E / 10.817°N 10.767°E
Post Code760005
Area3,815 km²
Major TribesFulani and Bolewa
Other TribesKarekare, Hausa, and Kanuri,
Major Crops ProducedMillet , Beans, Sorghum and Groundnuts
Major Livestock ProducedCattle, Sheep, Goats and Poultry
Major AttractionsBubayero Tomb at Gombe Abba
Other AttractionsKallam Hill, Wuro Sada Fishing Village
Core MineralKaolin
Comparative adantage products⋅ Ball clay ⋅ Cotton ⋅ Cowpea ⋅ Groundnut ⋅ Gum Arabic ⋅ Kaolin ⋅ Mango ⋅ Okra ⋅ Pawpaw ⋅ Poultry ⋅ Silica Sand ⋅ Sorghum

Approximate distance of communities to the LGA and State headquarters  

Community Distance from LGA Headquarters Distance from State Headquarters 
Dukku 0 KM 73.04KM 
Gombe Abba 19.12KM 85.39KM 
Hashidu 29.9KM 87.65KM 
Jarkum 14.51KM 64.25KM 
Malala 44.54KM 92.45KM 
Zange 28.74KM 51.33KM 

Gombe is one of the 36 states of Nigeria. It is located in the north eastern part of the country.

The state was created out of Bauchi state on 1st October 1996 by Sani Abacha’s administration.

Its creation was a fulfilment of the aspiration of the people who for long, had passionately craved for a state of their own out of the then Bauchi state.

Gombe State has eleven Local Government Areas (LGA) namely, Akko, Balanga, Billiri, Dukku, Funakaye, Gombe, Kaltungo, Kwami, Nafada, Shongom, and Yamaltu Deba.

The following are administrative maps of Gombe State showing the local government areas


Historically, Gombe state is a fusion of two distinct groups of people, comprising the people of Gombe North and the ethnic grouping of Gombe South.

Gombe is located on latitude 9”30’ and 12”30’N, Longitude 8”5’and 11”45’E.

It has borders with Borno, Yobe, Adamawa, Taraba, and Bauchi states.

The State climate is generally warm, with temperatures not exceeding 300c during the months of March-May considered to be the hottest months. The following table gives other profile of the jewel state.

The following Map indicates in red the position of Gombe in relation to the thirty six (36) states of the federation.

Map of Nigeria Showing Gombe

The Emirate government, which had its Head quarters in Gombe Abba, was formed to effectively control what constitutes a larger part of the Gombe State, until the advent of the British in the early 20th century.

Under the British, the state was administered through the mechanism of two administrative units, i.e. Gombe Native Authority and Tangale Waja Native Authorities. The two Authorities constituted Gombe Division during the Colonial era. However, with independence in 1960 and the subsequent military administration, many changes occurred which led to the emergence of local government authorities. Thus, between 1976 and the present, the then two authorities had metamorphosed into the present 11 local governments.

Capital: Gombe

Land area: The State occupies a total land area of about 20,265sqkm.

Climate: Warm, exceeding 40″c during the hottest month (March – May)

Topography: Mainly mountainous, undulating and Hilly to the South-East and flat open plains in the Central, North, North-East, West and North-West.

Location: Latitude 9”30’ and 12”30’N, Longitude 8”5’and 11”45’E. The state lies in the centre of North east Geopolitical Zone of Nigeria. It shares common boundaries with Adamawa and Taraba State to the South, Bauchi State to the West, Borno State to the East and Yobe State to the North.

Power: The State is served by the PHCN National grid through the North-East PHCN substation located in Gombe State capital

Roads: Five(5) Federal trunk “A” roads connect the State Capital with all parts of the Country. Twonship roads have been constructed in the State capital and all the major towns.

Airport: The State has an International Airport which is also surrounded by four (4) International Airport, located in Kano, Jos, Yola and Maiduguri.

Major towns :Gombe the capital, Bajoga, Billiri, Kaltungo, Kumo, Dukku and Deba.

Ethnic CompositionMulti-ethnic, mainly made up of Fulani, Tangale, Waja, Bolawa, Tera,Jukun, Jara, Pero, Tula, Cham, Lunguda, Dadiya, Kamo, Awak, Kanuri, Hausa, Yoruba and Igbo.

Language spoken: English is the official language, but as much as Hausa remain the commercial language amongst the people of the state, Fulfulde, Tangale, Tera, Waja, and Kanuri are commonly spoken.

Vegetation: Gombe is generally a Guinea Savannah grassland with concentration of wood lands in the South East and South West.

Rainfall: Annual Average of 850mm.