Oriire Local Government Area, Oyo State, Nigeria

Oriire Local Government, Ikoyi-Ile came into existence as a result of Local Government Council creation on the 10th of May, 1989 from its creation in May 1989, Oriire Local Government extends from Ipeba river along Ogbomoso/Oyo road to Dogo junction near Igbeti, headquarters of Olorunsogo Local Government Area. The distance between the two extreme points of Oriire Local Government is about ninety-six (96) Kilometers with an area of two thousand and forty (2040) square kilometers (km2).

Oriire Local Government is bounded in the North by Olorunsogo Local Government, in the East by Oba river with common boundaries with Ogbomoso North and Ogo Oluwa Local Government Areas. It also shares a common boundary in the North-East with Surulere Local Government Area and Kwara State in the North-West with upper Ogun forest and in the South with Atiba Local Government Area.

There are about eight hundred towns and villages in the Local Government Area and the people are predominantly Yoruba of Ogbomoso, Ikoyi, Oyo and Ilorin origin.

However, in January 2017, two (2) Local Council Development Areas (LCDA) were carved out of Oriire Local Government which are:

  • Oriire North LCDA with her headquarter at Olokoto.
  • Oriire South LCDA with her headquarter at Ahoro-Dada.

Thus, bringing the Government more closer to the people of the grass-root level in the L.G.A.